University of Massachusetts Amherst Records

7,500 lin. feet
Call no.: RG 1-199
rotating decorative images from SCUA collections

Established in western Massachusetts in 1863 as the Massachusetts Agricultural College, the University of Massachusetts Amherst is a national research university and the flagship campus of the states five-campus University system. UMass, one of the founding members of the Five College Consortium established in 1965, offers reciprocal student access among the University and Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, and Smith Colleges. The University currently enrolls approximately 24,000 undergraduate and graduate students, and offers 87 bachelor's degree programs, 6 associate's, 73 masters, and 51 doctoral programs in 10 schools and colleges.

The Archives of the University of Massachusetts Amherst document the institutional memory of the campus and serve as the largest and most comprehensive source of information on the history and cultural heritage of the University. As the collective memory of the university, the repository contains official records and items having historical value such as records of governance, policy, operation of administrative offices, departments, research, programs, and publications. Unpublished materials in the Archives include photographs, films, memorabilia, administrative records of major university offices, and the papers of presidents, trustees, administrative officers, and members of the faculty.

Background on Creator:

The Massachusetts Agricultural College was established in 1863 under the original Morrill Land Grant Act of 1862. In 1867, four faculty members and four wooden buildings awaited the first entering class of 56 students who would study a curriculum combining modern farming, science, technical courses, and liberal arts. The first female student enrolled at the college in 1892, the same year the first graduate degrees were authorized. In order to reflect a broader curriculum, what was known as "Mass Aggie" became Massachusetts State College in 1931; "Mass State" became the University of Massachusetts in 1947.

After World War II, the University of Massachusetts in Amherst experienced rapid growth in its physical facilities, enrollment, and curriculum. A temporary campus opened at Fort Devens (1946-1949) to accommodate the influx of returning veterans. By the 1954-1955 academic year, the University had enrolled 4000 students. By 1964, undergraduate enrollment jumped to 10,500, as Baby Boomers came of age. The turbulent political environment also brought a sit-in to the newly constructed Whitmore Administration Building. By the end of the decade, the completion of Southwest Residential Complex, the Alumni Stadium and the establishment of many new academic departments gave UMass Amherst much of its modern stature.

By the 1970s continued growth gave rise to a shuttle bus service on campus as well as several important architectural additions: the Murray D. Lincoln Campus Center, with a hotel, office space, restaurant, campus store, and passageway to a multi-level parking garage; the W.E.B. Du Bois Library, named tallest library in the world upon its completion in 1973; and the Fine Arts Center, with performance space for world-class music, dance and theater.

The University's second campus was opened in Boston in 1965, and expanded into the Harbor campus in 1974. A third campus, the University of Massachusetts Medical Center at Worcester, was founded in 1962, and enrolled its first class in 1970. The same year, the President's Office was moved from Amherst to separate offices in Boston, and the Office of Chancellor was established as the chief executive position at each campus.

In 1991, Governor William F. Weld signed legislation creating a new five campus University of Massachusetts with a single president and a board of trustees. This legislation consolidated five public university campuses (the three UMass campuses, the University of Lowell, and Southeastern Massachusetts University) into a single university system with an autonomous governing board. The Board of Higher Education is the governing body of the University system.

The 1980s and 1990s saw the emergence of UMass Amherst as a major research facility with the construction of the Lederle Graduate Research Center and the Conte National Polymer Research Center. Other programs excelled as well. In 1996 UMass Basketball became Atlantic 10 Conference champs and went to the NCAA Final Four. Before the millennium, both the William D. Mullins Center, a multi-purpose sports and convocation facility, and the Paul Robsham Visitors Center bustled with activity, welcoming thousands of visitors to the campus each year.

UMass Amherst entered the 21st century as the flagship campus of the states five-campus University system, and with an enrollment of nearly 24,000 students and over 200,000 living alumni around the world. The University is also one of the founding members of the original Four College Cooperation (1956) and of the Five College Cooperative program established in 1965, offering reciprocal student access among the University of Massachusetts Amherst and Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, and Smith Colleges.

Scope of collection

The Archives of the University of Massachusetts Amherst document the institutional memory of the campus and serve as the largest and most comprehensive source of information on the history and cultural heritage of the University. As the collective memory of the university, the repository contains official records and items having historical value such as records of governance, policy, operation of administrative offices, departments, research, programs, and publications. Unpublished materials in the Archives include photographs, films, memorabilia, and administrative records of university offices.

In addition to documenting the official actions, events and activities of the University, the University Archives collects faculty, student and organizational papers. These materials significantly augment the official documentation of the University to provide information on student and faculty interests, activities and involvement with the University both on and off campus, and offer insights into the culture of the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Materials in the Archives range from documentation of the original Morrill Land Grant Act of 1862 which established the Massachusetts Agricultural College to recent editions of the student newspaper, the Massachusetts Daily Collegian and The Index (yearbook). The records of student housing and registered student organizations offer a glimpse into student activities, while University publications document University life, developments, and events.


University as a Whole
82.75 lin. feet
RG 001

The Massachusetts Agricultural College was established in 1863 under the original Morrill Land Grant act of 1862. Four faculty members and four wooden buildings awaited the first entering class of 56 students in 1867. The first graduate degrees were authorized in 1892. What was known as "Mass Aggie" became Massachusetts State College in 1931, and the University of Massachusetts in 1947.

After World War II, the University of Massachusetts in Amherst experienced rapid growth in its physical facilities, enrollment, and programs. A temporary campus opened at Fort Devens (1946-1949) to accommodate the influx of returning veterans. The University's second campus was opened in Boston in 1965, and expanded into the Harbor campus in 1974. A third campus, the University of Massachusetts Medical Center at Worcester, was founded in 1962, and enrolled its first class in 1970. The same year, the President's Office was moved from Amherst to separate offices in Boston, and the Office of Chancellor was established as the chief executive position at each campus.

In 1991, Governor William F. Weld signed legislation creating a new five campus University of Massachusetts with a single president and a board of trustees. This legislation consolidated five public university campuses (the three UMass campuses, the University of Lowell, and Southeastern Massachusetts University) into a single university system with an autonomous governing board. The Board of Higher Education is the governing body of the University system.

The University is one of the founding members of the original Four College Cooperation (1956) and of the Five College Cooperative program established in 1965, offering reciprocal student access among the University and Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke and Smith Colleges.

This collection of materials consists of official University records and unofficial historical files. The wide range of documentation in this record group includes annual reports, special reports, minutes, directories, catalogs, newsclippings, press releases, and memorabilia.

University as a Whole is arranged into four major subject groups:

  • Official Publications
  • Founding and Legislation
  • Official Ceremonies
  • University Historical Collection

Publications (except as noted below)

RG 001/00
Bibliography, Organization Charts

RG 001/00/1
Annual Reports
RG 001/00/2
Special Reports
RG 001/00/3
Catalogs (Bulletin Series); General Information Bulletins
RG 001/00/4
Directories, mugbooks, catalogs of Graduates, and All-University Lists of Students
RG 001/00/5
Founding Committees
RG 001/1
Charters and Legislation
RG 001/2

Includes documentation of the Morrill Land Grant as well as federal and state charters and legislation.

University Governing Body
RG 001/3

1966 - Massachusetts Board of Higher Education

1980 - Board of Regents

1991 - Higher Education Coordination Council

1996 - Board of Higher Education

University Symbols
RG 001/6

RG 001/7
Press Information
RG 001/7/1
Honorary Degrees
RG 001/7/2
RG 001/7/3
RG 001/7/4
Anniversaries and Special Events
RG 001/8
RG 001/9
RG 001/10
Awards, Prizes
RG 001/11
Invited Lecturers (not sponsored by Distinguished Visitors Program or other unit)
RG 001/12
University Historical Collection
RG 001/13
Published Histories

RG 001/13/202
History of the University

RG 001/13/202/1
University Historical Materials

RG 001/13/202/2

RG 001/13/203
Student Life

RG 001/13/204
Tuition and Fees

RG 001/13/205
Degrees, Courses, and Curriculum

RG 001/13/206
Oral Histories

RG 001/13/207
University History Project

RG 001/13/208
84.25 lin. feet
RG 2

Massachusetts Governor John A. Andrew incorporated the Board of Trustees for the Massachusetts Agricultural College on April 29, 1863. The first board of fourteen trustees was charged with the task of creating a new agricultural college. The following year, members of the Board were established as overseers for the college, and Charles L. Flint, secretary, became college secretary as well. The Board of Trustees (including student trustees), governs the University, and meets regularly to act on University-wide matters of policy, mission, finance, and campus maintenance. Governance responsibilities in some areas (e.g., tuition, academic program review and approval) are shared with the statewide Board of Higher Education. The Board of Trustees maintains a Chair and six standing committees: Executive, Administration and Finance, Academic and Student Affairs, Athletics, Audit, and External Affairs. The President and the Five College Chancellors administer board policy

The bulk of the Board of Trustees records consists of meeting minutes (1906-2007) and Trustee Documents (1963-2007). Trustee Meeting Minutes (1863-1981) and Trustee Documents (1963-1981) are also available on microfiche. Comprehensive lists of all trustees serving the college and university since 1863 can also be found in this record group. Some of the individual trustees have extensive files, which contain correspondence, publications, and news clippings. Additional materials can be found in Trustees Photographs. Of note are the records of the significant undertaking by the Trustees' "Commission on the Future of the University of Massachusetts" (1988-1989), which resulted in the state's five public university campuses being consolidated under a single President and Board of Trustees.

The Board of Trustees records are organized into series and sub-series. Series include:

  • Publications, Minutes
  • Board Reports, Documents
  • University Medal for Outstanding Service
  • Individual Trustees
  • Trustee Work Folders
  • Trustees' Council
  • Trustees' Advisory Council on the Fine Arts
  • Commission on the Future of the University of Massachusetts
Publications (except as noted below)
RG 002/00
University Medal for Outstanding Service
RG 002/00/99
RG 002/1
Board Reports
RG 002/2
RG 002/2
Tenure Appointments/Recommendations
RG 002/2/1

Access to the Tenure Appointments/Recommendations files is restricted.

Trustees, Individual (by date of appointment: biographies, publications, etc.)
RG 002/3
Trustees Council
RG 002/4
Trustees Advisory Council on the Fine Arts
RG 002/5
Trustee Workfolders
RG 002/6

Access to the Trustee Workfolders is restricted.

Commission on the Future of the University of Massachusetts
RG 002/7
Presidents Office
129.5 lin. feet
RG 3

On November 29, 1864, the Board of Trustees for the Massachusetts Agricultural College created the Office of the President and elected Henry Flagg French as the first president of the newly created land grant institution. Permanent, acting, and interim presidents served until 1969, when the Board of Trustees created a separate central administration for the University, which was reorganized into a tripartite institution.

When the President's office was relocated from the Amherst campus to separate offices in Boston in 1970, the Office of Chancellor was established as the chief executive position at each of the five campuses. The responsibilities of the President and of the central administrative staff are summarized in the Governance Document of the University which was adopted in 1973. The president acts as the principal academic and executive officer of the University, presents policy recommendations to the Board of Trustees, keeps current a master plan of the University, prepares the annual budget, allocates the appropriated budget, appoints members of the faculty to tenure with the concurrence of the Board of Trustees, coordinates the work of all campuses of the University and promotes the general welfare of the University as a whole.

The President's Office records consist of the papers of individual presidents (1864-2007) and their Presidential Reports (1948-1984). Other major series include: Secretary of the University, specifically the papers of Secretary Robert J. McCartney (1957-1974), whose tenure spanned over two decades; Treasurer's Office (1864-2007), which contains the campus financial records; and records of the Donahue Institute for Governmental Services (1970-2007).

Access is restricted on some files of recent Presidents.

Publications (except as noted below)
RG 003/00
Organizational charts issued by President's Office
RG 003/00/1
Individual Presidents
RG 003/1

Individual presidents are arranged by date of inauguration.

Henry Flagg French
Paul Ansel Chadbourne
William Smith Clark
Levi Stockbridge (acting)
Charles L. Flint
Levi Stockbridge
Paul Ansel Chadbourne
Henry Hill Goodell (acting)
James C. Greenough
Henry Hill Goodell
William Penn Brooks (acting)
Kenyon L. Butterfield
Edward M. Lewis (acting)
Edward M. Lewis (acting)
Edward M. Lewis
Roscoe W. Thatcher
Hugh P. Baker
Ralph A. Van Meter (acting)
Ralph A. Van Meter
Jean Paul Mather
John William Lederle
Robert C. Wood
Franklin Patterson (acting)
David C. Knapp
Joseph D. Duffey
E.K. Fretwell Jr. (interim)
Michael. Hooker
Sherry Penney (interim)
William Bulger
Jack M. Wilson (interim)
Jack M. Wilson
Vice President for University Policy
RG 003/2
Secretary of the University
1932-1974 (bulk1951-1974)
RG 003/3
Treasurer's Office
RG 003/4
RG 003/4/1
RG 003/4/2
Financial Reports
RG 003/4/3
Associate Treasurer
RG 003/4/4
Director of Business Procedures and Project Planning
RG 003/4/5
Assistant to the President for Liaison Services
RG 003/5
Vice President for Academic Affairs
RG 003/6
Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs
RG 003/6/1
Vice President for Planning
RG 003/7
Donahue Institute for Governmental Services (IGS)
RG 003/8
Institute for Labor Affairs
RG 003/9
Public Affairs
RG 003/10
Vice President for Management and Business Affairs
RG 003/11
Presidents Cabinet
RG 003/12
Vice President For Management and Fiscal Affairs and University Treasurer
RG 003/13
Vice President for University Relations

RG 003/14

No records in archives.

Office of Human Resources

RG 003/15

No records in archives.

Vice President for Management and Fiscal Affairs
RG 003/16
Vice President for Management

RG 003/17

No records in archives.

Assistant Vice President for Labor Relations and Personnel
RG 003/17/1
Governmental Affairs

RG 003/18

No records in archives.

Labor Relations

RG 003/19

No records in archives.

Public Information Office

RG 003/20

No records in archives.

Inter-Campus Committees (2-campus and 3-campus)
RG 003/100
Inter-Campus Committees (5-Campus)
RG 003/105
Chancellor, Amherst Campus
365.75 lin. feet
RG 4

The position of Chancellor, Amherst Campus, was created in 1970 when the office of the University President moved to Boston; the first person to serve as Chancellor was Oswald Tippo in 1970.

The Chancellor is the chief administrative officer of the campus and is responsible for carrying out policies and procedures as established by the Board of Trustees and the University President. The Chancellor also coordinates the major administrative units of the campus, each supervised by the Deputy Chancellor or Vice Chancellor. The Chancellor is responsible for campus strategic planning and, in particular, for proposing and reviewing activities that involve different administrative units, such as budget reallocations, enrollment management, facilities planning and some labor relations.

Externally, the Chancellor speaks for the campus to such audiences as trustees, state and federal legislators, alumni, state and local public officials, business and community leaders. In addition to the Deputy Chancellor and the Vice Chancellors, the Director of Athletics reports to the Chancellor, as does the Associate University Counsel, who advises the Chancellor and other members of the University community about legal issues.

Materials in the series Budget Documents (1908-2007) including news clippings (1885-2007) were first maintained in 1908 by Ralph J. Watts, the College's first full-time Secretary to the President. Robert Hawley, his successor, became the College's Treasurer in 1940. When the President's Office moved to Boston, the early budget files became part of the Chancellor's record. In 1969 the Office of Budgeting and Institutional Studies was created and it assumed budget responsibilities.

The Chancellor's materials consist primarily of the administrative records of individual Chancellors; additional series document activities of the Chancellor's Office. Since 1983, various Chancellors have issued The Chancellor's Report, an annual report of the Amherst Campus. Included in the report is the state of the campus and special topics such as student needs, the future of the University, relationships with the Commonwealth, and budget issues.

The Institutional Studies series is a collection of facts and reports, which have been compiled since 1960, including information on campus enrollment, degrees, programs, budget, and other institutional issues. The Chancellor's Lecture Series (1974-2007) documents this on-campus lecture program and its participants; VHS tapes are available for most of these lectures.

The records of the Chancellor's Office are organized into three major series (Individual Chancellors, Budget Documents and Institutional Studies) and a number of smaller series. Individual Chancellors has two major accretions: 1970-1982 and 1979-1984. These early records of the Chancellor's Office are arranged by subject heading and then alphabetically within each grouping.

This collection is stored off-site; advance notice is required for retrieval.

Publications (except as noted below)
RG 004/00
Individual Chancellors
RG 004/1
Budget Documents
RG 004/2

Early presidential budget papers, 1908-1945

News clippings, 1885-2007

Institutional Studies

RG 004/3
Office of Institutional Studies (OIS)
RG 004/3/1
Office of Budgeting and Institutional Studies (OBIS)

RG 004/3/2

1969 - Budgeting and Institutional Research

1974 - Budgeting, Institutional Research and Planning

1977 - Office of Budgeting and Institutional Studies (OBIS)

1980 - OBIS changed to Office of Planning and Budget (OPB)

Office of Planning and Budget (OPB)

RG 004/3/3

1980 - Planning and Budgeting

1982 - Planning/Institutional Research (subsumed as an Administrative task in the Chancellor's and Provost's offices)

1982 - Budget Office (Organized under Vice Chancelor for Administration and Finance)

1983 - Institutional Research and Planning (OIRP)

Office of Institutional Research and Planning (OIRP)

RG 004/3/4

1983 - Institutional Research and Planning

1983 - Administered by Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

1985 - Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs assumed direct responsibility

Office of Institutional Research (OIR)

RG 004/3/5

ca.1991 - Planning segment dropped from OIRP.

Office of Academic Planning and Assessment (OAPA)

RG 004/3/6

1993 - OAPA Picks up planning segment of OIRP.

Office of Grant and Contract Administration
RG 004/4
Assistant to the Chancellor
RG 004/5
Office of Human Relations
RG 004/6
Affirmative Action Office/Equal Opportunity and Diversity Office
RG 004/7
Ombuds Office
RG 004/8
Multicultural Conflict Resolution Team
RG 004/8/1
Chancellor's Working Group for Economic Development

RG 004/9

No records in archives.

Quest Program
RG 004/9/1
Office of Industrial Relations and Regional Development
RG 004/10
Amherst Campus Council
RG 004/11
Chancellor's Lecture Series
RG 004/12
Chancellor's Executive Committee (CEC)
RG 004/13
Office of Space Management (OSM)/ Office of Campus Planning and Space Management
RG 004/14
Office of Economic Development (OED)

RG 004/15
Working Group on Economic Development

RG 004/15/1
University Counsel

RG 004/16
Counsel on Community Diversity and Social Justice
RG 004/17
Deputy Chancellor

RG 004/18
Office of Equity and Inclusion (OEI)

RG 004/19
Black Presence Initiative
RG 004/19/1
Public Affairs
73.75 lin. feet
RG 5

The early years of publicity for Massachusetts Agricultural College focused primarily on agriculture and home economics. During the Massachusetts State College period, new public relations programs were proposed in an attempt to broaden coverage of the entire college. Robert McCartney served as the first UMass News Editor (1948-1953) and as Director of Publications and News (1953-1956). In 1961, the entire central Public Relations staff of the University of Massachusetts consisted of a news and publications editor; however, the College of Agriculture had its own staff of publicity professionals (director, news, radio, television and publications editors).

In 1961, President Jown W. Lederle authorized the position of Assistant News and Publications Editor based on the assumption that there would be need for more publications and greater publicity as the University prepared for its centennial year in 1963. Over the next five years, the University's public relations program grew as the University expanded at a rate of approximately 1500 students per year. The two members of the News and Publications office divided their functions into news and publications. The staff in the agricultural communications area was incorporated into the University's public relations area with subsequent personnel shifts. All of these units reported informally to the Secretary of the University. Robert McCartney (who had taken a position as Director of University Relations) at the University of Maryland) returned to UMass in 1964 as Secretary of the University of Massachusetts and Director of University Relations.

In a major reorganization in 1969, Joseph Marcus was made Vice Chancellor, with repsonsibilities for Public Relations, Alumni, Special Programs, and Continuing Education. Marcus left the position after one year and the concept of a vice chancellor to manage the public relations area was abandoned. After Oswald Tippo became chancellor in 1970, he named Daniel Melley as Director of Public Affairs, with responsibility for news, publications, the Photo Center, and managerial responsibility for WFCR radio.

In the fall of 1973, the Public Affairs Office completed a total reorganization, which separated the editorial and design/production duties within publications. In 1983 the position of Vice Chancellor for University Relations and Development was created. This name changed in 1993 to Vice Chancellor for University Advancement to oversee public affairs, alumni relations and development.

This record group consists of materials gathered from several offices whose purpose has been (and continues to be) production of broad, University-based publications and publicity; these are primarily represented by news clippings, press releases, brochures, guidebooks, newsletters, bulletins, weekly newspapers, semi-monthly feature publications, special publications and photographic negatives.

Also included in this group are the following publications: Chancellor's Monthly Press Briefings, Chancellor's Annual Review of NewsClips, Commonwealth Research Reports, Campus Guidebooks, University Newsletter, Weekly Bulletin, Executive Bulletin, University Bulletin, brochures, Contact, UMass, Science Journal, University Notebook, Tips, News Summary, and the Commonwealth Journal.


The most fully documented series of this record group are:

  • News Bureau (News Office) (1922-2007)
  • Campus Chronicle (1985-2007)
  • UMass Magazine (1903-2007)
  • Publications Office (1946-2007)
  • Photographic Services (1962-2004)
The Photo Center negative collection (1956-2004) is listed on a searchable database in the Department of Special Collections and University Archives.

Publications (except as noted below)
RG 005/00
Campus Guidebooks
RG 005/00/1
University Newsletter
RG 005/00/2
Weekly University Executive Bulletins
RG 005/00/3
RG 005/00/4
RG 005/00/5
University Bulletin
RG 005/00/6
UMass 1983 and 1984
RG 005/00/7
RG 005/00/8
Massachusetts Gazette
RG 005/00/9
Campus Chronicle
RG 005/00/10
RG 005/00/11
RG 005/00/12
Director of Public Affairs
1933-1980 (bulk1933-1955)
RG 005/1
Office of Public Information (OPI)/News Bureau
RG 005/3
Science Journal
RG 005/3/1
University Notebook
RG 005/3/2
RG 005/3/3
News Summary
RG 005/3/4
Publications Office
RG 005/4
Speakers Bureau
RG 005/5
Radio, TV
RG 005/6
Photo Center/Photographic and Motion Picture Services
RG 005/7
Creative Services
RG 005/8
Publicity about UMass
RG 005/10
Academic Affairs
160.75 lin. feet
RG 6

This record group includes the collected records of many of the University offices and programs primarily concerned with academic affairs. Initially academic affairs was the responsibility of early presidents. In 1906, the Board of Trustess created the office of Dean of the College. As Dean of the entire college, the Dean was responsible for student attendance, scholarship standing, enforcement of faculty rules, and discipline.

In 1953 the office of Provost was created to provide leadership in all areas of academic activity. In 1970 the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost became the chief academic officer of the campus responsible for advising the Chancellor regarding the whole of the University's academic program.

The bulk of the records consist of the files of individual Deans of the College, Provosts and Vice Chancellors for Academic Affairs, as well as the University Year for Action (1971-1976). Also included are the records of interim and special appointees that report to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and the Provost, and the special programs, committees, institutes, and centers that were initiated by or developed from those offices.

Publications (except as noted below)

RG 006/00
Notes from Academic Affairs
RG 006/00/N6
Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost
RG 006/1

Arranged individually by date.

Assistant to the Provost
RG 006/1/1
Dean's Council/Provost's Administrative Council/Academic Deans Meetings
RG 006/2
Campus Management Council
RG 006/2.5
Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
RG 006/3
Center for Teaching
RG 006/3/1
Associate Provost for Special Programs
RG 006/4
University Year for Action (UYA)
RG 006/4/4
Global Program
RG 006/4/5
Rhetoric Program
RG 006/4/6
Bilingual Collegiate Program (BCP)
RG 006/4/6.5
Legal Studies
RG 006/4/7
Center for Outreach Programs
RG 006/4/8
International Programs; including Peace Corps
RG 006/4/9
Foreign Students Advisor/Office
RG 006/4/9/2
International Area Studies
RG 006/4/10
Honors Program
RG 006/4/11
Committee for the Collegiate Education of Black and other Minority Students (CCEBMS)
RG 006/4/12
Spanish CCEBS
RG 006/4/12/2
Upward Bound
RG 006/4/13
Future Scholars of America (FSA)
RG 006/4/13.5
The Environmental Institute (TEI)
RG 006/4/14
Center for Community Renewal
RG 006/4/14/1
University Center for Economic Development
RG 006/4/14/2
National Park Service Cooperative Research Unit
RG 006/4/14/3
Environmental Behavior Research Center
RG 006/4/14/4
Cooperative Marine Education Research (CMER)
RG 006/4/14/5
Archaeological Services
RG 006/4/14/6
Communication Skills Center
RG 006/4/15
Associate Vice Chancellor for Computing and Information
RG 006/5
Office of Information Technologies (OIT)
RG 006/5/1
Interim Vice Provost for University Outreach
RG 006/6

No records in archives.

Undergraduate Advising and Academic Support Center (UAASC)
RG 006/7
Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education
RG 006/10
Director of Academic Budget (no records in Archives)

RG 006/11
Learning Resources Center
RG 006/12
Associate Provost for Women and Minority Groups
RG 006/13
Associate Provost for Professional Schools
RG 006/14
Campus Planning

RG 006/15
Early Campus Planning
RG 006/15/1
Alumni Advisory Committee on Campus Development
RG 006/15/2
Campus Planning Council
RG 006/15/3
Planning Office
RG 006/15/4
Energy Conservation Committee
RG 006/15/5
Schedule Office
RG 006/16
Summer School, Short Courses
RG 006/17
Center for Instructional Resources and Improvement (CIRI)
RG 006/18
Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities
RG 006/19
Learning Disabilities Coordinator's Office (LDCO)
RG 006/20
Teaching Development Program
RG 006/21
Academic Instructional Media Services (AIMS)
RG 006/22

Formerly the Audio-Visual Department

Continuing Education
36 lin. feet
RG 7

The Division of Continuing Education was established in 1970 as the de facto academic outreach program for the University. Its goal was to improve access to the academic resources of the University for part-time students. Shortly after its inception, this included the development of a specialized admissions process approved by the Faculty Senate and an integrated counseling, advising, registration and records operation geared to the needs of part-time students.

The Division of Continuing Education continues to provide specialized services and programming for part-time students including Tutoring Enrichment Assistance Model for Public School Students (TEAMS) and Arts Extention, which acts as a catalyst to stimulate interaction between the fine arts resources of the University and the people in the Commonwealth.

The bulk of the Continuing Education records is contained in three major series:

  • Division of Continuing Education, 1970-2007
  • Everywoman's Center (including the Women of Color Leadership Network), 1971-2007
  • University Conference Services, 1906-2007

Publications (except as noted below)

RG 007/00
Administration of Continuing Education as a Whole

RG 007/1
Everywoman's Center

RG 007/2

RG 007/2/00
Chomo Uri

RG 007/2/00/C3
Everywoman's Center Newsletter

RG 007/2/00/N3
Administration and Finance

RG 007/2/1
Programs and Services

RG 007/2/2
Educational Alternatives

RG 007/2/2/1
Feminist Arts Program

RG 007/2/2/2
Resource and Referral

RG 007/2/2/3
Poor Women's Task Force

RG 007/2/2/4
Third World Women's Programmer

RG 007/2/2/5
Counseling Services

RG 007/2/2/6
Career Counseling

RG 007/2/2/7
Counselor/Advocates Against Rape and Sexual Violence

RG 007/2/2/8
Women of Color Leadership Network

RG 007/2/2/9
University Conference Services

RG 007/3
Mental Retardation Project

RG 007/4
Arts Extension Service

RG 007/5
Northeast Metric Research Center

RG 007/6
Legal Assistant Training Program

RG 007/7
Women's Program Development

RG 007/8
Citizen Involvement Training Project (CITP)

RG 007/9
Energy Education Center

RG 007/10
University Writing Program

RG 007/11
Tutoring Enrichment Assistance Model for Public School Students (TEAMS)

RG 007/12
75 lin. feet
RG 8

Massachusetts Agricultural College housed its first library in a room in the first South College building. When this building burned and the collection was destroyed in 1885, the faculty, students, and alumni donated their own books and journals to re-establish a collection which was then moved into the newly constructed combined chapel and library. In 1883 an Alumni Library Committee was established to raise funds for the construction of a Stone Chapel, which was built between 1884 and 1885. Now called Old Chapel, it was the first campus building designed for use as a library. Main library facilities have been housed in Old Chapel, Goodell Library (1935), and the University Library (called the "tower library") (1973), which was named the W.E.B. Du Bois Library in 1996. Other library facilities on campus included libraries for the biological sciences, physical sciences, and the Music Library. The Integrated Science and Engineering Library has combined the services of the biological and physical sciences and is housed in the Lederle Graduate Research Center.

Henry Hill Goodell was the first official Librarian (1885-1899). He was succeeded by:

  • Ella Frances Hall (1899-1908)
  • Charles R. Green (1908-1921)
  • Henry S. Green (1921-1924)
  • Basil Boise Wood (1924-1952)
  • Hugh Montgomery (1952-1966)

From 1966-1972 David Clay held the title Director of Libraries. Merle Boylan, Jr. held the title of University Librarian and Director from 1972-1973. The title Director of Libraries was established in 1973, and has been held by Richard Talbot (1973-1996), and Margaret L. Crist (1997-2003). The current Director of Libraries is Gerald Jay Schafer.

The collection consists of reports, meeting minutes, budget and planning documents, correspondence, policies and procedures, staffing records, photographs, news clippings and releases, catalogs, bibliographies and special events information. The Director / Librarian's records (1924-1975) consist of accession lists, alphabetical and subject files, correspondence, and other materials. In other series detailed information can be found about the tower library design and construction, dedication, naming, brick problem, and the Mass Transformation and Class Act. Also included in the records is a significant amount of information on the Hampshire Inter-Library Center (HILC) and 5 College Cooperation.

This collection is organized into eleven major series:

  • Publications (1888-2007)
  • Director Librarian (1900-2007)
  • Collection Development (1885-2007)
  • Public Services (1876-2007)
  • Technical Services (1870-2007)
  • Library Buildings (1869-2007)
  • Committees (1883-2007 [bulk 1954-2007])
  • Hampshire Inter-Library Center (HILC) and 4/5 college cooperation (1951-2007)
  • Friends of the Library (FOL) (1956-1971)
  • Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM) (1956-1975)
  • Boston Library Consortium (1975-2007)

Publications (except as noted below)

RG 008/00
Annual Reports
RG 008/00/A5
LS2000 Newsletter/Library Automation Newsletter
RG 008/00/L4
Library Information Bulletin
RG 008/00/L5
Monthly Reports
RG 008/00/M6
RG 008/00/N3
Statistical Reports and Summaries
RG 008/00/S8
RG 008/1
Assistant to Director
RG 008/1/1
Business Office (Business and Personnel)
RG 008/1/2
Special Collections and University Archives
RG 008/1/3

Archives and Manuscripts was administered by Public Service Division beginning in 1983; In the Fall of 1990 the department was renamed Special Collections and Archives, and then Special Collections and University Archives in 2003.

Systems Office
RG 008/1/4
Audio-Visual Department
RG 008/1/5
RG 008/1/6
Management Assistant (no records in Archives)

RG 008/1/7
Massachusetts Film Co-op (no records in Archives)

RG 008/1/8
Collection Development
RG 008/2
Public Services

RG 008/3
RG 008/3/1
Circulation and Reserve Services
RG 008/3/2
Government Documents
RG 008/3/3
Interlibrary Loan
RG 008/3/4
RG 008/3/5
Special Collections and Rare Books
RG 008/3/6
Music Library
RG 008/3/8
Biological Sciences Library
RG 008/3/9
Physical Sciences Library
RG 008/3/10
Former Departmental Libraries
1880-1975 (bulk1858-1878)
RG 008/3/11
Reading Rooms
RG 008/3/12
RG 008/3/13
Technical Services
RG 008/4
RG 008/4/1
Books for College Libraries
RG 008/4/2
RG 008/4/3
Information Processing
RG 008/4/4
Library Buildings

RG 008/5
Old Chapel
RG 008/5/1
Goodell Library
RG 008/5/2
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
RG 008/5/3
Committees and Other Groups
RG 008/6
Hampshire Interlibrary Center (HILC) and 4 / 5 College Cooperation
RG 008/7
Friends Of the Library (FOL)
RG 008/8
Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American library Materials (SALAM)
RG 008/9
Boston Library Consortium
RG 008/10
Research and Graduate Studies
1 lin. foot
RG 9

The record group includes publications, organizational charts, and files from the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and the Dean of Graduate Studies.

Publications (except as noted below)

RG 009/00
Vice Chancellor for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies / Vice Chancellor for Graduate Education Economic Development Research
RG 009/1
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies and Research

RG 009/1/1
Administrative Staff

RG 009/1/2
University Human Subjects Review Committee

RG 009/1/1
Radioisotope Use Committee

RG 009/1/2
Animal Care Committee

RG 009/1/3
Biological Hazards Committee

RG 009/1/4
Chemical Hazards Committee

RG 009/1/5
Dean of Graduate Education
RG 009/1/3
Office of Research Affairs

RG 009/2

RG 009/2/1
Graduate Student Support Services

RG 009/2/2
Faculty Research Grant/Biomedical Research Support Grant

RG 009/2/3
Healy Endowment/Public Service Fund

RG 009/2/4
Faculty Fellowships

RG 009/2/5
Office of Research Services

RG 009/3
Cartographic Information Laboratory

RG 009/3/1
Digital Photographic Laboratory

RG 009/3/2
Glassblowing Laboratory

RG 009/3/3
Microanalysis Laboratory

RG 009/3/4
Office of Business Affairs

RG 009/4
Business Manager and Staff

RG 009/4/1

RG 009/4/2
Research RAs/ROs

RG 009/4/3
Teaching TAs/TOs

RG 009/4/4

RG 009/4/5
Equipment Match

RG 009/4/6
Office of the Graduate Registrar

RG 009/5
Graduate Registrar

RG 009/5/1
Graduate Admissions

RG 009/5/2
Graduate Records

RG 009/5/3
Graduate Degree Requirements

RG 009/5/4
Graduate Data Processing

RG 009/5/5
Polymer Research Institute

RG 009/8
Massachusetts Demographic Research Institute

RG 009/10
Marine Station

RG 009/12
Graduate School
70 lin. feet
RG 10

The University of Massachusetts Amherst has offered graduate study since 1896, awarding more than 11,360 doctoral and 37,480 master's degrees. With a Graduate Faculty of 1,100 in 2006 the Amherst campus offers 50 programs leading to a doctorate and 68 programs toward a master's degree.

Included in the Graduate School Records are files related to the Graduate School Dean, graduate programs, and the records of the University Press Boston Office.


RG 010/1
Graduate Programs

RG 010/1/10
Teacher Improvement Assistantships

RG 010/1/20
Associate Dean

RG 010/2
Coordinator of Research, Associate Dean for Research

RG 010/3
University Press

RG 010/4
University Press Amherst Office

RG 010/4/1
University Press Boston Office
54 lin. feet
RG 010/4/2

After eighteen years, the Boston Office of the University Press was closed in 2006.

The collection consists of files on individual books that were sponsored by the Boston Office and published by the Press including author correspondence, peer reviewer correspondence and confidential reports, and internal editorial, production, and marketing correspondence. Also included are files on individual projects that were pursued but did not result in publications, files on individual book series sponsored by the Boston Office, general correspondence files arranged by correspondent, and files regarding relationship of the Press with UMass Boston, including exchanges with Chancellors, Provosts, and Deans, and extensive external correspondence in support of the Boston Office during the 2003 budget crisis.

Editorial files are restricted for fifteen years from the date of creation.

Office to Coordinate Energy Research and Education

RG 010/5
Statistical Consulting Center

RG 010/6
Office of Minority Graduate Student Recruitment

RG 010/7
Graduate Student Grant Service (GSGS)

RG 010/8
College of Arts and Sciences
18 lin. feet
RG 11

The records of the College of Arts and Sciences document the history of the department and its programs. Notable inclusions are files from the office of the Dean, the Curriculum Advisory Council, the University Internship Program, English as a Second Language, and the Fine Arts Council.

Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

RG 011/1
Assistant Dean

RG 011/1/1
Curriculum Advisory Council

RG 011/2
Academic Advisory Council

RG 011/2/1
Area Studies

RG 011/3
Bachelor's Degree with Individual Concentration (BDIC)

RG 011/4

Formerly under Associate Provost for Special Programs; reorganized in 1981

College of Arts and Sciences Information and Advising Center (CASIAC)

RG 011/5
Office of Internships (University Internship Program)

RG 011/6

Formerly under Associate Provost for Special Programs; reorganized in 1981

English as a Second Language

RG 011/7
Counseling and Academic Development Center (CADC)

RG 011/8
Project I CAN
RG 011/8/1
Center for New England Culture

RG 011/9
College of Humanities and Fine Arts

RG 011/10
Dean, Humanities and Fine Arts

RG 011/11
Friends of the Fine Arts Center

RG 011/12
Fine Arts Council

RG 011/13
Concert Association

RG 011/14
Art Gallery (Herter and University Galleries)

RG 011/15

Before 1995, arts programs were the responsibility of the Fine Arts Council. For materials relating to the University Art Gallery after 1995, please see the Fine Arts Center Records, RG 25/F2/U5.

Fine Arts Festivals

RG 011/16
Film Calendar

RG 011/17
Language Laboratory

RG 011/18
Facility for Computing in the Humanities (FCH)

RG 011/19
AIDS Memorial Quilt Project
RG 011/20
Social and Behavioral Sciences Faculty/College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

RG 011/30
Dean, Social and Behavioral Sciences

RG 011/31
Office for Cooperative Education

RG 011/31/1
College of Natural Science and Mathematics

RG 011/50
Dean, Natural Sciences and Mathematics

RG 011/51
School of Management
11 lin. feet
RG 12

Business courses were first offered at the Massachusetts Agricultural College in the early 1900s. The 1905-1906 Catalogue of the Massachusetts Agricultural College offered general economic courses and by 1907-1908, agricultural economics courses were being taught by the Department of Rural Social Sciences. When the college restructured during the 1911-1912 academic year, the Department of Agricultural Economics was established under the Division of Rural Social Sciences. From 1912 until 1935, Dr. Alexander E. Cance served as head of the department. In 1935 courses in general economics and business-related subjects transferred to the newly organized Department of Economics in the Division of Social Sciences, with Dr. Cance appointed Head. Cance remained in the position until 1942 when he was replaced by Dr. Phillip E. Gamble. Between 1935 and 1947, the curriculum expanded with many new courses such as Money, Banking, and Credit; Business Law; Principles of Transportation; Economics of International Trade; and Labor Problems.

In 1947, the Board of Trustees established the School of Business Administration. From 1947 to 1952, the faculty and curricula of the School of Business Administration and the Department of Economics were closely integrated, and Dr. Gamble served jointly as Head of the Department of Economics and Acting Dean of the School.

As a result of the rapid growth in faculty, and the diversification of student majors and curriculum offerings in the immediate post World War II period, the School of Business Administration was reorganized in 1952 and Dr. Milo Kimball was appointed Dean. In 1954, the School conferred graduate degrees for the first time to three students who had successfully completed the requirements for the degree of Master of Business Administration. In February 1957, Dean Kimball resigned his administrative responsibilities and returned to full-time teaching. Provost Shannon McCune assumed the duties of Acting Dean pending the arrival of the newly appointed Dean, Dr. Himy B. Kirshen.

The School was accredited at the undergraduate level by the American Association of Collegiate Schools of Business in May 1958, and in March 1959, the Board of Trustees authorized the establishment of four academic departments within the school: Accounting, General Business and Finance, Management, and Marketing. The initial administrative officers of these departments were, respectively, Professors John W. Anderson, James B. Budtke, John T. Colon, and Harold E. Hardy.

In April 1965, the Business Advisory Council, a group of executives from a wide variety of industrial and service firms, was established to consult with the School on the development of its curricula and its research and service programs. In July 1967, the School established the Center for Business and Economic Research to encourage and support applied research by faculty and students in all areas of management and administration. Dr. George Simmons was appointed Director of the center. In September 1967, a program leading to the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in Business Administration was introduced. In 1983, the School of Business Administration changed its name to School of Management. In 1998, it was renamed the Eugene M. Isenberg School of Management.

The record group consists of annual reports, deans' records, correspondence, committee reports, long-range planning, self-study reports, proposals, research reports, faculty reprint series, lists of faculty publications, general publications, brochures, seminar information, newsletters, newsclippings and other related materials.

Publications (except as noted below)

RG 012/00

RG 012/1
Project ABLE (Affirmative Business Leadership Education)

RG 012/2
Center for Business and Economic Research

RG 012/3
Massachusetts Business and Economic Report
RG 012/3/B8
Business Club

RG 012/4
Food Management Science Laboratory

RG 012/5
Pierce College

RG 012/6
Center for Manufacturing Productivity
RG 012/7
Massachusetts Small Business Development Center (MSBDC)

RG 012/10
Center for Economic Development

RG 012/12
Massachusetts Information Scanning Unit (MISU)

RG 012/13
School of Education
46.5 lin. feet
RG 13

In 1906 the Massachusetts Legislature enacted a law supporting the development of agricultural teaching in grades of schools in the Commonwealth. Then President, Kenyon L. Butterfield, a leader in the rural life movement, organized a separate Department of Agricultural Education at the Massachusetts Agricultural College in 1907, which introduced teacher-training courses for preparation of teachers of agriculture. The first head of the department, Professor William R. Hart, identified the departments mission as "the historical and philosophical study of industrial education leading to a rational interpretation of the meaning of agriculture as a study in modern school life. It is, in short, the effort to interpret agriculture in terms of rural betterment rather than in terms of profit and loss, and the drudgery of making a living. The work of instruction will be partly within the college and partly without."

In 1912, the College's individual departments were organized under newly formed divisions and Agricultural Education became part of the Division of Rural Social Science. Specific authorization providing training of vocational agricultural teachers was passed in 1914, but no classes were organized prior to the acceptance of the Smith-Hughes Act in 1917. During the 1918/1919 academic year, the college established one course in special methods of agricultural teaching for undergraduates, an apprentice teaching plan, and short courses for mature persons. The state agent for agricultural teacher training, Franklin E. Heald was located in a branch office in the agricultural building at the college. In September 1919, an additional member, Professor W. S. Welles, was appointed to the college teacher-training staff, with primary responsibility for the courses in agricultural education and with some itinerant teacher-training duties. The basic apprentice-teaching plan, which required a full term away from the campus for college credit, was put into effect in the winter of 1919.

On the recommendation of the Trustees' Faculty and Program of Study Committee, in 1932 the Board of Trustees changed the name of the Department of Agricultural Education to the Department of Education. In 1936, to more appropriately reflect the differences in majors offered, the Department of Education became the Department of Education and Psychology within the Division of Social Sciences. In 1938, the Division was renamed the Division of Liberal Arts. In 1947 the department of Education and Psychology was divided into separate departments and faculty members were housed in the former Liberal Arts Annex and later in Machmer Hall.

In 1948, University President Ralph Van Meter requested that the Department of Education prepare a program commensurate with the present and future needs of the citizens of Massachusetts. He also created a special faculty committee to analyze the advisability of creating a school of education that could respond to the drastic need for new teachers in Massachusetts in the post-war years. To meet this need, the University proposed expanding its teacher-training program. In 1956, the Department of Education was organized into a School of Education by President Jean Paul Mather. Dr. Albert W. Purvis served as the first Dean of the School of Education from 1956-1968.

The Education Building and Laboratory School opened in 1961. Although teacher training was the function of the School, the administration maintained that teacher education was a function of the entire University. To this end, cooperative programs were established with various schools and departments whereby these units provided the general education and subject content needed by the teacher trainees and also aided, in some cases, with the professional program.

The late 1960s and 1970s were expansive years for the School of Education. In 1967, with Provost Oswald Tippo and the University Trustees investing heavily in its development. The curriculum, departmental structure, and governance processes of the School were modified. Its faculty, graduate students and undergraduate students were organized into one of nearly three dozen centers (later clusters and concentrations), each focusing on one or a few of the aspects of managing and delivering educational content. The academic reforms achieved by the School of Education in the areas of experimentation, options, student responsibility, social action, and continuing innovation appeared to reflect the thoughts of many commissions involved in Higher Education at the time.

Between 1968 and 1971, fifty-five new tenured faculty were hired. By 1973, the School had ninety faculty members, including sixteen minority faculty and twelve women, and was ranked thirteenth in the nation for its research contribution to the American Educational Research Association. In addition, the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education recognized the School's offering twenty-two alternate teacher preparation programs.

In 1976 the Chancellor appointed a special Committee on the Future School of Education, which made a number of recommendations including, continuing "to increase the size and scope of its program of in-service education, primarily to meet the needs of school systems in the Commonwealth, but, also to provide professional improvement for people in other institutions and agencies." Major change came in the 1976-1977 academic year with the establishment of a new mission. The central mission of the School became the training and development of professional leaders in the field of teaching and in non-teaching areas of research, administration, and the human services. The need for the School to foster partnerships between the University and the Public School system as well as with other urban and rural agencies statewide was also addressed. As a result, between 1977 and 1993, the school was organized into divisions and concentrations. The major divisions were Human Services and Applied Behavioral Sciences; Educational Policy, Research and Administration; and Instructional Leadership and concentrations such as Alternative Schools Programs and the Horace Mann Bond Center.

The late 1980s saw a dramatic decrease in state support for the University, and the School of Education suffered cuts. In 1993, the School reorganized into three major departments: Education Policy, Research, and Administration; Student Development and Pupil Personnel Services; and Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies.

This record group is comprised of annual reports; Executive Committee Minutes and Faculty Minutes; correspondence and memoranda; biographical information; organizational charts and directories; audits; policies and procedures, guidelines and handbooks; grants and proposals; accreditation reports and program evaluations, studies, surveys, reviews and data sheets; technical reports and publications; catalogs, brochures, pamphlets and flyers; course descriptions and schedules, curriculum, workshop materials and sample portfolios; bulletins, newsletters, articles; news releases and newsclippings; dedication programs; films; artifacts and related materials. Two unique collections are the early collection of Teacher Training: Vocational Agriculture materials (1912-1964) and the National School Alternative Programs films and related materials.

The National School Alternative Program films and related materials are housed off-site and require 24-hour retrieval notification.

Publications (except as noted below, including annual reports)

RG 013/00

RG 013/1
Teacher Education Coordinating Council (TECC)

RG 013/1/1
Project STRIDE (Springfield Teacher Recruitment)
RG 013/1/2
School of Education
RG 013/2
School of Education
RG 013/3

RG 013/3/3

RG 013/3/5
Flexible Modular Scheduling

RG 013/3/7

RG 013/3/9
Innovations In Education-Film Lecture Series
RG 013/3/10

RG 013/3/11

RG 013/3/12
Humanistic Applications of Social and Behavioral Sciences Cluster

RG 013/3/15
Human Relations

RG 013/3/15/1
Center for Humanistic Education

RG 013/3/15/2
Center for Human Potential

RG 013/3/15/3
Juvenile Justice Program

RG 013/3/15/4
Educational Planning and Management Cluster

RG 013/3/17
Center for Educational Research

RG 013/3/17/1
Center for Occupational Education

RG 013/3/17/2
Center for Leadership and Administration

RG 013/3/17/3
Center for Curriculum

RG 013/3/17/4
Educational Policy Studies Cluster

RG 013/3/19
Center for Human Potential

RG 013/3/19/1
Center for Early Childhood Education

RG 013/3/19/2
Foundations of Education

RG 013/3/19/3
Center for Higher Education

RG 013/3/19/4

Includes the University Center for Community College Affairs.

Center for International Education

RG 013/3/19/5

ncludes the Nonformal Education Center.

Center for Futuristics

RG 013/3/19/6
Education for a Changing World

RG 013/3/19/7
Multicultural Education

RG 013/3/19/8
Transdisciplinary Education Cluster

RG 013/3/21
Center for Reading

RG 013/3/21/1
Media Center

RG 013/3/21/2
Center for Aesthetics

RG 013/3/21/3
Center for Special Education

RG 013/3/21/4
Center for Teacher Education

RG 013/3/21/5
Bi-Lingual/Bi-Cultural Education

RG 013/3/21/6

No records in archives.

Alternative Schools (National Alternative Schools Program)

RG 013/3/21/7
Micro Teaching

RG 013/3/21/8
Center for Media Specialists for the Deaf

RG 013/3/21/9
Designs for Effective Learning Cluster

RG 013/3/23
Center for Urban Education

RG 013/3/23/1
Center for Integrated Day

RG 013/3/23/2
Center for Equal Education

RG 013/3/23/2.5
Center for Research

RG 013/3/23/3
Laboratory of Psychometric and Evaluation Research

RG 013/3/23/3.1
Teacher Education

RG 013/3/23/4
Instructional Applications of Computers

RG 013/3/23/5
Center for Human Potential

RG 013/3/23/6
Administration and Leadership

RG 013/3/23/7
Future Studies Program
RG 013/3/23/8
Proposed Center for Suburban Education

RG 013/3/23/9

RG 013/3/25
School of Education
RG 013/4

This record group is organized into divisions and concentrations.


RG 013/4/00
Division of Human Services and Applied Behavioral Sciences (HS/ABS)

RG 013/4/1
Human Development Laboratory School

RG 013/4/1/5
Division of Educational Policy, Research and Administration (EPRA)

RG 013/4/2
Inquiry Program

RG 013/4/2/1
Residential Colleges

RG 013/4/2/2
University Without Walls (UWW)

RG 013/4/2/3
Center for International Education

RG 013/4/2/4
Center for Immigrant and Refugee Community Leadership and Empowerment (CIRCLE)
RG 013/4/2/4/1
Division of Instructional Leadership

RG 013/4/3
Student Affairs Leadership and Development Master's Degree Program

RG 013/4/3/1
Community Education Resource Center (CERC)

RG 013/4/3/2

No records in archives.

Center for Organizational and Community Development (COCD)

RG 013/4/3/3

RG 013/4/10

This series is arranged alphabetically and listed with pre- and post-1977 cluster/division affiliations.

School of Education
RG 013/5

Organized into three major departments.


RG 013/5/00
Education Policy Research and Administration

RG 013/5/1
Student Development and Pupil Personnel Services

RG 013/5/2
Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies

RG 013/5/3
College of Engineering
17 lin. feet
RG 14

Beginning in 1867, Massachusetts Agricultural College offered engineering courses in surveying and the construction of roads and bridges - practical skills that might frequently be used as part of any farming routine. These courses, offered by the Mathematics Department, were the only classes offerend in engineering for almost fifty years.

In 1914, the department of Agricultural Engineering was established within the Division of Agriculture. Christian I. Gunness taught courses in farm structures and farm machinery. In 1938, the Department of Mathematics and Civil Engineering combined with the Department of Agricultural Engineering to form General Engineering. Professor Gunness and the other Agricultural Engineering faculty offered six specialized courses; George A. Marston and John D. Swenson brought to the new department a program of eighteen courses in general engineering that had been developed in the Department of Mathematics.

In the fall of 1945, the Division of Engineering was created. In 1946, the Division split into two departments, Agricultural Engineering and Civil Engineering. The School of Engineering was established one year later. The school originally had four departments: Civil, Electrical, Mechanical, and Agricultural, with each offering a four-year undergraduate curriculum leading to a bachelor of science degree. In addition, the Mechanical Engineering Department administered an optional curriculum in Industrial Engineering.

In 1952, the Department of Chemical Engineering was added to the School of Engineering. The roots of this new department lay in the Department of Chemistry in the School of Science. The School of Engineering became the College of Engineering in 1985. The College of Engineering majors are organized in four academic departments: Chemical Engineering; Civil and Environmental Engineering; Electical and Computer Engineering; and Mechanical and Industrial Engineering.

This record group contains annual reports and meeting minutes; Executive Council and Engineering Research Council records; dean's records; curriculum and program materials; proposals and accreditation reports; reports and publications; curriculum for summer short courses; brochures and pamphlets; and newsletters and publicity files. Deans' records contain materials representing the first four deans of the College of Engineering:

  • George A. Marston (1947-1963)
  • E. E. Lindsey (1963-1966)
  • Kenneth Picha (1966-1976)
  • Joseph Marcus (1976)

Publications (except as noted below)

RG 014/00

RG 014/1
Commonwealth Technical Resource Service (COMTECH)

RG 014/2
Applied Technology Center

RG 014/3
Research Institute

RG 014/4
Office of Extended Engineering Education

RG 014/5
Minority Engineering Program (MEP)

RG 014/6
College of Natural Resources and the Environment
53.5 lin. feet
RG 15

Massachusetts Agricultural College (MAC) was founded in 1863 when the Morrill Land Grant Act of 1862 provided funds for the establishment of colleges of agriculture and mechanical arts throughout the nation. The curriculum changed throughout the early years of MAC although practical courses in agriculture and horticulture remained at its core. Through time, the curriculum broadened as a result of the changing economy, agricultural techniques and perceptions by college and state administrators about what constituted "rural development."

In 1907, the Division of Agriculture and the Division of Horticulture were established. Frank A. Waugh, Professor of Horticulture, came to the College in 1902, and in 1903 established an undergraduate curriculum in landscape gardening, one of only two in the country at the time. By 1909 fifty-two courses in agriculture and horticulture were offered, organized into four sections: Agronomy, Animal Husbandry, Dairying, and Farm Administration. The Horticulture Division included the Departments of Landscape Gardening, Floriculture, Market Gardening, Pomology and Forestry.

In 1915, a graduate curriculum in Landscape Gardening was developed within the Division of Horticulture, which, after three semesters, would lead to a masters degree. By 1918, the graduate program was called Landscape Architecture (it was not until 1930 that the undergraduate program in Landscape Gardening was re-named Landscape Architecture, paralleling the change in name of the Massachusetts Agricultural College to the Massachusetts State College in 1931).

In response to the growing need for trained farmers during the World War I period, a two-year professional and technical school was founded in 1918 as the "Two-Year Course". The divisions of Horticulture and Agriculture were re-organized into separate schools in 1945. Five years later, under new leadership, the two schools merged into the School of Agriculture and Horticulture, which in 1955 was re-named the College of Agriculture. The College or Agriculture was organized into the College of Food and Natural Resources in 1972. In 1975, the Division of Home Economics transferred to the College under the Department of Food Science.

In 1984, recognizing the role that the University of Massachusetts plays in regional economic development, the State Legislature established a Center for Rural Massachusetts at the Amherst campus, an information clearinghouse that assists town and state officials in policy development around such issues as population growth and urban sprawl, subdivision zoning, rising residential price fluctuations, and wise use of agricultural lands for development.

In 1991 the Division of Home Economics became the Department of Consumer Studies reflecting the multi-disciplinary focus of the department. Two majors were offered at this time, Apparel Marketing and Family, and Consumer Sciences. In 2000 the Apparel Marketing program was eliminated. Subsequently, due to budget concerns and a lack of critical mass of faculty to meet its curriculum obligations, the Department of Consumer Studies was eliminated in December, 2001. The Family and Consumer Sciences program, within Consumer Studies, was thereafter transferred to the Department of Economic Resources. In 2003 the College of Food and Natural Resources was reorganized and changed its name to the College of Natural Resources and the Environment.

This record group consists of Dean's annual reports, organizational charts, personnel lists, committee minutes, lecture materials, data sheets, maps and census statistics, conference proceedings, course catalogs, directories, publications, handbooks, photographs and audio-visual materials, and other related materials.

Portions of this collection are stored off-site and require advance notification for retrieval.

Publications (except as noted below)

RG 015/00

RG 015/1
Experiment Stations

RG 015/2

Experimental work was first conducted at the Massachusetts Agricultural College in the 1870s by Charles A. Goessmann, Levi Stockbridge, and President William Smith Clark. In 1882 a formal experiment station was established. The State Agricultural Experiment Station (State Station) was directed by Charles A. Goessmann. In 1888 a second station was founded under provisions of the Hatch Act and was named the Hatch Experiment Station while the earlier one continued under the name of the State Station. In 1895 the two stations merged under the name Hatch Station, which continued until 1907, when it was changed to Massachusetts Agricultural Experiment Station.

Contains annual reports, Board of Control minutes, Joseph B. Lindsey letter copy book (1890-1900), bulletins, and photo albums (1882-1895).

State Station
RG 015/2/1
Hatch Station
RG 015/2/2
Massachusetts Town Statistics
1930-1970 (bulk1930-1940)
RG 015/2/3

From 1935 to the 1940s, Professor David Rozman and Ruth E. Sherburne of the Agricultural Experiment Station, Department of Economics, compiled agricultural, economic and demographic data in cooperation with the Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management for a project initiated by Bureau of Agricultural Economics and Agricultural Adjustment Administration of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The resulting study documents adjustments in farming by type of farming areas, from the standpoint of agricultural adjustment and planning, including soil conservation. The project utilized base maps compiled under a Works Progress Administration project (No. 20677) in conjunction with the Massachusetts State Planning Board, in the 1930s-1940s, which are included in the collection.

Included in this series are maps, statistical charts and tables of land use and growth in many of the towns in Massachusetts for the period from the mid-1930s to the early 1940s.

Holdsworth Natural Resources Center

RG 015/3
Center for International Agricultural Studies

RG 015/4
Malawi Project
RG 015/4/1
Stockbridge School of Agriculture

RG 015/5
Wildlife Research Unit; Fishery Unit (Massachusetts Cooperative)

RG 015/6

RG 015/7
Cooperative Extension Service

RG 015/8

In May 1914 Congress passed the Smith-Lever Act appropriating $10,000 to establish, through the U.S. Department of Agriculture, an extension service at Massachusetts Agricultural College and in several surrounding counties. The funds were to be used to support cooperative extension work (primarily lectures and demonstrations), organization of teaching clubs, and work with local schools in agriculture and home economics. Laura A. Comstock, the first Professor of Home Economics (1913), became home demonstration leader in 1916 when she received her joint appointment from the College and the United States Department of Agriculture, becoming the first Massachusetts State leader of Home Demonstration Agents.

In 1918 a new law providing for county extension work was passed by the Massachusetts Legislature which stipulated that county extension services had to be administered under local boards of trustees. This "home rule" policy for extension was supported by President Butterfield who believed that extension services should be administered and controlled by the constituency that they served. This degree of local administration was the first of its kind in the nation.

In the 1930s, the Extension Service developed educational materials for the federal government. The Cooperative Extension Service responded to World War II by identifying local leaders and coordinating Extension with other agencies assisting farmers with maintaining or increasing production. Since 1947, when Massachusetts State College became the University of Massachusetts, the Extension Service has undergone organizational changes and widened its responsibilities. Formerly used only in reference to crops and other farm products, agriculture was redefined and expanded to include all the processes through which farm products pass before reaching the consumer. It came to apply to problems affecting the use of natural resources and environmental influences, which led to new staff appointments in such fields as resource development, environmental science, food processing and marketing.

In the years following WWII, Cooperative Extension took an active role in assisting other countries with establishing extension services. The result was cooperative agreements between the University of Massachusetts and institutions in Japan (University of Hokkaido), West Germany, Vietnam and others; and in 1963, the University and the Agency for International Development signed a contract to carry out an agricultural training program in Malawi, Africa.

In 1996, UMass Extension was moved from the College of Food and Natural Resources to University Outreach and, John Gerber was then appointed Director of UMass Extension. In 2000, Stephen Demski assumed the role of Interim Director of UMass Extension and Associate Vice Chancellor University Outreach.

Consists of annual, directors', and project reports; histories; committee records; course materials; subject files; bulletins, leaflets, circulars, newsletters, newsclippings, and press releases; and other published materials.

Sea Grant Advisory Program

RG 015/8/1
County Agricultural Program

RG 015/8/2
Center for Massachusetts Data (State Data Center)

RG 015/8/3
Young People's Programs
RG 015/8/4
State Planning Board

RG 015/8/5
Integrated Pest Management Program (IPM)

RG 015/8/6
Small Farm/Rural Development Resource Center

RG 015/8/7
Massachusetts Farm Prices Research Collection
RG 015/8/9

Statistical information on Massachusettts farm prices compiled by Roy E. Moser, Extension Economist, Department of Farm Management.

Waltham Suburban Experiment Station

RG 015/9
Mount Toby Reservation

RG 015/10
Horticulture Division of Massachustts Agricultural College

RG 015/11
Department of Consumer Studies
RG 015/12

When the Massachusetts Agricultural College was established in 1863, the door was opened for the future study of home economics. The Land Grant College Acts (1862 and 1890) provided early land-grant institutions with unique opportunities to provide "practical and useful quality education for the mass of citizens." In 1914, the Smith-Lever Act created the Cooperative Extension Service with Home Economics Extension as an essential component. The Extension Service was charged with the responsibility of taking practical information from the land grant colleges and the Department of Agriculture to the citizenry of the Commonwealth.

Prior to 1916 there were very few women students at the Massachusetts Agricultural College. Some took class as early as 1892; however, it was not until 1905 that undergraduate women first received degrees. Between 1910 and 1923, 47 women attended the College and 37 graduated. Their extracurricular activities included holding class offices, Landscape Art Club, Florist and Gardeners Club, as well as fellowship at Delta Phi Gamma, the first sorority on campus. Additional women faculty and new curriculum were established that would meet the needs of these early women students. Starting in 1916, a historic point in time, women would appear thereafter in every graduating class.

The first home economics course offered at the Massachusetts Agricultural College, Foods and Conservation, was offered as part of the ten weeks Winter School of the 1917-1918 college year. As they lacked their own facilities, students (the majority were women) used the Amherst High School laboratory on Saturday mornings for the laboratory work.

In 1919, Edna Lucy Skinner was hired as Professor of Home Economics and head of that new program at Massachusetts Agricultural College. Under her leadership (1919-1946), the program grew from a Department in 1924, to a Division in 1928 and then a separate School in 1945, with Edna Skinner as Dean. As of 1921, the Department of Home Economics was offering to women students elective courses only; and for the first time, a full-time instructor was available, which resulted in an increased interest and impetus in this work. The increasing interest in these courses, and the demand from the women students for additional work, together with urgent requests from many High School girls who wished to attend the Massachusetts Agricultural College and pursue a major in Home Economics supplied impetus for developing a full Home Economics program. Their goal was to develop a course in Home Economics, which would emphasize home making as a fundamental vocation for young women.

In 1930, the Home Economics Department printed a brochure titled "Instruction in Home Economics, which encouraged women to study home economics at the Massachusetts Agricultural College. The study of Home Economics offered "the modern girl" the opportunity to take courses which would be both broadening and satisfying as she pursued her chosen vocation or profession. The first graduate work in home economics was done in 1935-1936 by Dorothy Doran; Gladys Cook received the first Masters of Science in Home Economics in 1936. Helen S. Mitchell joined the Department of Home Economics faculty in 1935.

During World War II, undergraduate women at the Massachusetts State College were offered many more opportunities in higher education; especially in the sciences. As the WWII veterans returned home and went to college, Mass State College saw a decline of women's enrollment in the sciences. However, women enrolled at the College were evenly divided between majors in the liberal arts, physical and biological sciences, and Home Economics. In 1945, the Division of Home Economics became the School of Home Economics with Helen Michell appointed its second Dean in 1946, serving until 1960 when she retired.

In 1947, when the Massachusetts State College became the University of Massachusetts, both the University's undergraduate and graduate programs were expanded. Though women had made great gains during the war, they still faced traditional thinking in the post-war years. In his 1950 Annual Report, President Van Meter rationalized that women attending college could best prepare themselves for their life's work by taking Home Economics classes. In 1973 the School of Home Economics became the Division of Home Economics (1973-1991). Later reorganization resulted in Human Nutrition and Foods being moved within the College of Food and Natural Resources, under the Department of Food Science; and Human Development was transferred to the School of Education.

In 1985, an extensive external review of the Home Economics Division's organization was conducted following a period of internal strife and a yearlong search for a permanent director. In 1988 Penny A. Ralston was appointed as Head Division of Home Economics, serving until 1992; when Sheila Mammen, Associate Professor of Consumer Studies, was appointed head. In 1991 the Division of Home Economics became the Department of Consumer Studies reflecting the multi-disciplinary focus of the department. Two majors were offered at this time, Apparel Marketing and Family, and Consumer Sciences. Also, in 1991, as part of Cooperative Extension's reorganization, three program coordinators joined the Department of Consumer Studies on an interim basis.

In 2000 the Apparel Marketing program was eliminated. Due to budget concerns and a lack of a critical mass of faculty members to meet its curriculum obligations, the Department of Consumer Studies was eliminated in December of 2001, with the Board of Trustees approving tenure for the four Consumer Studies faculty members, as they transferred into different departments at UMass. The Family and Consumer Sciences program, within Consumer Studies, was thereafter transferred to the department of Economic Resources.

Formerly the Home Economics Division.

Northeast Forestry Experiment Station
RG 015/13
Cadwell Forest

RG 015/14
Cranberry Experiment Station

RG 015/15
Center for Rural Massachusetts

RG 015/16
Horticultural Research Center
RG 015/17
University Outreach
0.25 lin. feet
RG 16
Publications (except as noted below)

RG 016/00
Vice Chancellor for University Outreach

RG 016/1
School of Health Science
5 lin. feet
RG 17

In 1912, the Massachusetts Agricultural College experienced a fatal epidemic of scarlet fever. In response to this disaster, the Massachusetts Legislature appropriated sufficient funds to construct an infirmary. When the infirmary opened in 1915, a resident nurse was placed in charge of the new facility; and in 1930, Dr. Ernest J. Radcliffe served as college physician. In the 1940s Curry Hicks, while serving as director of the Athletic Program, was also made responsible for student health services and Dr. Radcliffe provided the leadership for a newly created department of Student Health.

In 1939, MAC, in conjunction with the Massachusetts Department of Public Health, approved a cooperative program in public health instruction. To support the program, a new Department of Bacteriology was established in 1940. The Board of Trustees approved additional public health courses in 1941 and voted to continue public health courses in 1944. The public health curricula included courses in General Bacteriology and Community Sanitation within the Department of Bacteriology and Public Health. In 1947 the program of undergraduate instruction was expanded to include a Master of Science degree, and in 1948, it graduated its first students.

A graduate program was established in environmental health in 1948. In 1951, the Trustees approved the establishment of a nursing program curriculum and in 1953, Mary A. Maher was appointed Director of a newly formed Division of Nursing. The first class was organized in September 1954. Agreements were reached with a nearby Springfield Hospital for the use of clinical facilities during the following summer session. In 1960, on recommendation of the President and vote of the Trustees, the Division was officially redesignated the School of Nursing.

In 1961, public health courses were moved from the Bacteriology Department, which then became the Department Of Microbiology. Robert W. Gage was appointed as head of the newly-created Department of Public Health while also serving as director of University Health Services. At that time the unit comprised two faculty members, experts in both health department administration and environmental sanitation. The academic offerings consisted of a master's level program and courses for undergraduate students. The primary purpose of the program was to educate graduates in conventional hygiene and sanitation and prepare them for management of local health departments. By 1964, the department had grown, and Dr. Howard A. Peters was given a joint appointment as director of Environmental Health in the University Health Services and as assistant professor in the Department of Public Health. The appointment of William A. Darity in 1965 introduced community health education as an essential component of the academic public health program.

In 1973, the School of Health Sciences was formed, comprised of the Division of Nursing and a separate Division of Public Health. The Department of Communication Disorders was added in 1975. The School of Health Sciences split into the School of Public Health and the School of Nursing in 1989. In 1993, the School of Health Sciences was renamed the School of Public Health and Health Sciences. In addition to educating graduate and undergraduate students and providing continuing education for health professionals, the school emphasized pursuit of basic and applied research as well as outreach through technical assistance and consultation to health and other human service agencies, to communities in the private sector, and to innovative demonstration programs. The School also began strong participation in scientific, professional, and policy-making bodies at the state, national, and international levels. The Center for Research and Education of Women's Health (CREWH) was established in 1997 to provide for the exchange of knowledge from current research; education on disease prevention, exercise and fitness; and nutrition information for women in the University and local community.

Record group consists of annual reports; department histories; accreditation reports; correspondence and memoranda; proposals; technical reports; faculty lists; course descriptions, course of study guides and syllabi; training handbooks and laboratory exercises; brochures and flyers; newsclippings, newsletters and articles; surveys; conference materials; and related materials.

Division of Public Health

RG 017/1

School of Public Health (created July 1989)

School of Public Health and Health Sciences (created August 1993)

Northeast Regional Environmental Public Health Center

RG 017/1/1
Center for Research and Education in Women's Health (CREWH)
RG 017/1/2

RG 017/3

The School of Nursing was created July 1, 1989.

School of Physical Education
18 lin. feet
RG 18

As early as 1867, the Massachusetts Agricultural College (MAC) offered physical education in conjunction with the Department of Military Science and Tactics under the instruction of an army officer. In addition, beginning in 1868, athletics characterized as "physical activities" were available to the students. One of the first recorded athletic events a local agricultural fair, at which Amherst College defeated MAC's first team, the Wilder Baseball Association (Mass Aggies) by a score of 57-38. By 1871, a small group of students had banded together under the direction of Joshua Ward, the College's first official coach, to expand this new, on-campus activity concept to include the Boating Organization and College Navy. However, the success of this newly instituted Intercollegiate Program was short-lived, as by 1875 low student moral, a lack of class spirit, and virtually non-existent funds forced the handful of interested students into a new idea, that of intra-class play or, as it is known today, Intramurals. As in the past sporadic student efforts and an unapproving faculty continued to hamper the general acceptance of any organized activity, but despite these obstacles, derivatives of what we know today as fencing, boxing, skiing, riflery, canoeing, bicycling, tennis, and football all made their modest emergence and meager impact on the quality of campus life.

By the turn of the century, the student body at MAC had increased to 668, and cries were being heard for coaching, facilities, equipment, and some form of athletic organization. Faculty opposition was lessening and concentrated efforts were under way by the newly created MAC Alumni Athletic Association to drain and grade the College's first official playing field. The Drill Hall was converted to accommodate indoor activity, athletic training tables for pre-game meals were initiated, and the first "letter sweater' was given.

By 1904, the athletic program was introduced to the Commonwealth when the Boston Globe recognized and hailed an Aggie athletic team, giving the program new life and inspiring the following year's baseball and football teams on to winning seasons. Unfortunately, however, student efforts to solidify this newly initiated interest and growth was soon to be again undermined, as President Kenyon Butterfield took a strong stand against "overemphasis" and any alumni intervention. His fear of overemphasis led to very little emphasis, and his conception that alumni involvement would lead to corruption left the hapless program floundering and directionless.

It wasn't until 1909 that a formal department of Physical Education and Hygiene was established under the leadership of Dr. Percy L. Reynolds. The physical education program on the Massachusetts campus was largely the result of the efforts of three people: Curry S. Hicks (who would eventually guide the Department of Athletics and Physical Education over the next 38 years), Mrs. Adeline Hicks, and Harold M. Gore. Hicks, who had taken over the department from Percy L. Reynolds in 1911, had built a program which stressed the promotion of physical fitness through exercise in group play. Instruction had aimed at the development of skills which would be employed not only during the days of college but also in the period of adulthood to follow.

After creating his policies of "no under-the-table antics" for coaches, alumni contributions with "no strings attached", and Program growth by means of student fees, Curry Hicks developed the Joint Committee on Intercollegiate Athletics to employ his new commandments. By 1918, the first admission had been charged for a contest, $375,000 was raised for a new field house, and the concept of a full-time year-round teacher/coach was introduced.

According to a 1933 report by Curry S. Hicks, the activities of Physical Education Department were organized under five major branches; Health Program, Athletics, Required Class Exercise, Teacher-Training, and the Women's Department. The Department of Physical Education and Hygiene became the Division of Physical Education in 1935. Expansion of the physical education program started slowly in the 1940s and moved ahead rapidly after World War II. In 1940 an administrative reorganization created four departments where only one had existed before. Harold M. Gore was made head of the Department of Physical Education for Men, and Ruth Totman, head of the department for women. Dr. Ernest J. Radcliffe, who had been the college physician since 1930, headed the new Department of Student Health, and Curry Hicks, division head, was also director of Athletics.

The Athletic Program's lack of any type of thrust, continued to contradict the new trends appearing across the United States exemplifying intercollegiate expansion and growth. While other land grant colleges improved, Athletics at MAC were stagnant. In 1954 Sidney W. Kauffman was brought in as head of the program for men. The Board of Trustees approved new curriculum and a major in Physical Education for men in 1954. These changes modernized the program of teacher training and attracted a larger number of students. It wasn't until 1958, however, that the Trustees approved a major in Physical Education for women, and a women's physical education building was completed in 1959. Under the leadership of Ruth Totman a new major curriculum was introduced for women in physical education.

At its annual meeting in Boston, on February 23, 1960, the Board of Trustees of the University of Massachusetts, redesignated the Division of Physical Education as the School of Physical Education. In 1993 the Board of Trustees eliminated the School of Physical Education and placed the responsibility for General Physical Education under Special Programs. Today the Director of Athletics reports directly to the Chancellor.

This record group consists of annual reports, Athletic Board records, committee meeting minutes, policies, financial statements (1911-1921), histories, handbooks, Varsity "M" Club records, Hall of Fame records, athletic field records, correspondence and memoranda, curriculum and teacher training courses, colloquia and conference materials, schedules and scores (1871-1923), newsletters and newsclippings, media programs and guides, brochures and catalogs, pamphlets and flyers, and related materials.


RG 018/1
Athletic Department

RG 018/2
Men's Sports:

Cross Country
Pistol Team
Polo Team
ca. 1896
Relay Races
Rifle Team
Rugby Team
Ski Team
1936-2007 (bulk1988-2007)
Swimming and Diving
Water Polo
Women's Sports:

Baton Twirling
Cross Country
Field Hockey
Track and Field
1967-2007 (bulk1986-2007)
Water Polo
Academic Departments, Programs, Institutes, Centers
RG 25

Within each series in RG 25, materials are arranged into the following subseries:

  • 1. Course Offerings and Brochures (graduate and undergraduate)
  • 2. Departmental Operations and Administration
  • 3. Miscellany (including news clippings, special events, programs, conferences sponsored, etc.)
Publications (including newsletters, but excluding all materials filed above)

RG 025/00

RG 025/A2
W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies

RG 025/A4
Agricultural Education

RG 025/A5.5
Agricultural Management Systems Center

RG 025/A5.75

RG 025/A6

RG 025/A7
Asian Studies Program and Committee

RG 025/A8
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

RG 025/B5
Molecular and Cellular Biology

RG 025/B5.5

RG 025/B6
Biotechnology Program

RG 025/B7

RG 025/B8
Building Materials Technology and Management

RG 025/B9
Chemical Engineering

RG 025/C2

RG 025/C3
Civil Engineering

RG 025/C4

RG 025/C5
Communication Studies

RG 025/C7
Student oratory speaking contests
RG 025/C7.3

RG 025/C7.4
Communication Disorders Department

RG 025/C7.5
Center for the Study of Communication (CSC)

RG 025/C7.6
Media Literacy Institute

RG 025/C7.7
Comparative Literature

RG 025/C8
Computer and Information Science

RG 025/C9
Center for Realtime, Intelligent, Complex Computing Systems (CRICCS)

RG 025/C9.1
Center for Computer-Based Instructional Technology (CCBIT)

RG 025/C9.2
Center for Studies in Contemporary Culture

RG 025/C12

RG 025/E1
Electrical and Computer Engineering

RG 025/E2
English (including Folklore and Journalism)

RG 025/E3

RG 025/E4
Pesticide Chemical Information Center

RG 025/E4.9
Environmental Quality, Technical Guidance Center for

RG 025/E7
Environmental Education and Management Center (EEMC)

RG 025/E7.5
Environmental Sciences

RG 025/E8
Exercise Science

RG 025/E9
Fine Arts Center

RG 025/F2

Prior to 1995, arts programs were the responsibility of the Fine Arts Council. For University Gallery Records before 1995, please see the records of the College of Arts and Sciences, RG 11/15. All New World Theater records prior to 1995 have been added to RG 25/F2/N4.

Asian Arts and Culture Program
9 lin. feet
RG 025/F2/A8

The Asian Arts and Culture Program was created in 1999 and is devoted to the expression of the performing and visual arts of Asian countries.

Materials include two Chinese calligraphy scrolls, Asian puppet exhibit materials, posters and photographs from performances, brochures, season programs, videotaped performances, audio cds, and two books: Arts in India 2003-2004 and Rituals in Dance.

New World Theater
RG 025/F2/N4
University Art Gallery
RG 025/F2/U5
Family Business Center
RG 025/F3
Food and Agricultural Engineering

RG 025/F4
Food and Resource Economics (renamed in 1982, Agricultural and Resource Economics)

RG 025/F4.5
Food Engineering

RG 025/F4.7
Food Science and Nutrition

RG 025/F5
Foreign Language Resource Center(s) (University and Five-College Inc.)

RG 025/F5.5
Forestry and Wildlife Management

RG 025/F6
UMass Program at Freiburg

RG 025/F8
French and Italian Department

RG 025/F9
General Business and Finance

RG 025/G2
Geology and Geography (GeoSciences)

RG 025/G4

RG 025/G6
Hispanic Literature and Linguistics

RG 025/H4

RG 025/H5
History Institute

RG 025/H5.5
Home Economics Education

RG 025/H6
Hotel, Restaurant, and Travel Administration

RG 025/H8
Human Development

RG 025/H9
Nursery School

RG 025/H9.5
Industrial Engineering

RG 025/I4
Interdepartmental Program in Film Studies

RG 025/I6
Interpreter's Studies Program

RG 025/I7
Judaic Studies (Program and Committee)

RG 025/J8
Center for Jewish Studies (CJS)
RG 025/J8.5
Labor Relations and Research Center

RG 025/L1
Landscape Architecture

RG 025/L2
Latin American Studies (Program and Committee)

RG 025/L4
Leisure Studies and Services

RG 025/L6
Legal Studies

RG 025/L7

RG 025/L8

RG 025/M2
Marine Sciences Program

RG 025/M3

RG 025/M4
Massachusetts Development Research Institute (MDRI)

RG 025/M4.8
Massachusetts Center for Renaissance Studies

RG 025/M4.3
Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC) (1994-2007)

RG 025/M4.5
Mathematics and Statistics

RG 025/M5
Center for Applied Mathematics

RG 025/M5.5
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

RG 025/M6
Agricultural Engineering Laboratory, Wareham

RG 025/M6.1
Microbial and Molecular Biology Laboratory Support Services (MMBLSS)
RG 025/M6.5

RG 025/M7
Military and Air Science

RG 025/M8
Music and Dance

RG 025/M9

RG 025/M9.2

RG 025/M9.3
Operetta Guild/Music Theatre Guild

RG 025/M9.4
Singing Clubs (Glee Clubs, Arion Quartet, Statesman, Choirs, Chamber Singers, University Choral, etc.)

RG 025/M9.5
National Environmental Technology for Waste Prevention Institute (NETI) (1994- )

RG 025/N3
Near Eastern Studies (Program and Committee)

RG 025/N4
Neuro Science and Behavior Program

RG 025/N5
Institute for North American Trade and Economics

RG 025/N6
Northeast Center for Urban and Community Forestry (1996- )

RG 025/N7
Ocean Engineering Program

RG 025/O2

RG 025/P2
Physics and Astronomy

RG 025/P3
Men's Physical Education

RG 025/P3.1
Women's Physical Education (WOPE)

RG 025/P3.2
Professional Preparation in Physical Education

RG 025/P3.3
Plant and Soil Sciences

RG 025/P4
Plant Biology Program

RG 025/P4.5
Plant Pathology

RG 025/P5
Shade Tree Lab

RG 025/P5.2
Political Science

RG 025/P6
Certificate Program in Population Studies

RG 025/P5.2
Center for Public Policy and Administration (CPPA)
RG 025/P5.3
Bureau of Public Administration

RG 025/P5.4
Bureau of Government Research

RG 025/P5.5
Legislative Service Project

RG 025/P5.6
Jackie Robinson Initiative (1994-1997)

RG 025/P5.7
Polymer Science and Engineering Program

RG 025/P7
Center for University of Massachusetts-Industry Research on Polymers (CUMIRP)

RG 025/P7.5

RG 025/P8
Psychological Services Center

RG 025/P8.4
Cognitive Processes Laboratory

RG 025/P8.5

RG 025/R3
Remote Sensing Center

RG 025/R4/R5
Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Education Institute
RG 025/S3
Slavic Languages and Literature

RG 025/S5
Social Thought and Political Economy (STPEC)

RG 025/S6

RG 025/S7
Soviet and East European Studies (Program and Committee)

RG 025/S7.5
Sport Studies

RG 025/S8
Strategic Envirotechnology Partnership (STEP)

RG 025/S9.5
Systems Neuroscience, Center for

RG 025/S10

RG 025/T3
Summer Repertory Theatre

RG 025/T3.4
Commonwealth Stage

RG 025/T3.5
Black Repertory Theater
RG 025/T3.6
University Theatre

RG 025/T3.8
Theatre in the Works (Summer series)

RG 025/T3.9
University of Massachusetts Transportation Center (UMTC)
RG 025/U4
United Asia Learning Resource Center (UALRC)
RG 025/U5
Veterinary and Animal Sciences

RG 025/V2
Water Resources Research Center (WRRC)

RG 025/W2
Western European Area Studies (Program and Committee)

RG 025/W3
Women's Studies Program

RG 025/W5
Wood Science and Technology

RG 025/W7

RG 025/Z5
Computer Center
3 lin. feet
RG 29
Publications (except as noted as below)

RG 029/00
Bits and Bytes
RG 029/1
RG 029/2
Technical Notes
RG 029/3
UCS Notes
RG 029/4
Instructional Technology NEWS
RG 029/5
New England Regional Consortium for Computational Studies (NERCCS)

RG 029/1
Digital Image Analysis Laboratory (DIAL)

RG 029/2
Student Affairs
75.5 lin. feet
RG 30

This record group consists of materials gathered from university offices, units, and centers responsible for admissions, financial aid, and student services (including housing, health and religious services, disability services, academic support, transportation, and campus safety).

Included in this record group are the records of Dean of Students, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, United Christian Foundation, Counseling Center Research Reports, Student Affairs Research and Evaluation Office and Student Affairs Research, Information and Systems (SARIS) reports, and Pulse Surveys.

Publications (except as noted below)

RG 030/00
Notes from the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

RG 030/00/1
RG 030/00/2

Published since 1890 by the Young Men's Christian Association and subsequently by the Christian Association, Student Religious Council, Student Senate, Women's Student Government Association, Office of Dean of Students and lastly by the Office of Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, these handbooks were generally edited and produced by students, although content and titles of the handbooks have changed through time. The student handbooks consist of maps and general information about the college and university including information about organizations, clubs, services, regulations and policies, faculty, work opportunities and social activities. Beginning in 1971 the Student Handbook was expanded to provide new students more detailed information about the University before they arrived. In the late 1980's the Student Handbook ceased as other publications provided this service.

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

RG 030/1

The Office of Dean of Women was established in 1945 and the Office of Dean of Men was created in 1948. President Lederle created the Office of the Dean of Students in 1961, to replace the separately structured offices of the Dean of Men and Dean of Women, and to provide more effective, more flexible support for a growing and changing student body. In the 1960's, the Office of the Dean of Students had responsibility for almost all of the operational units related to student life, including Admissions, Records, Residence Halls, Dining Halls,Student Union, Student Activities, Placement, and Financial Aid. As the University became a statewide administrative unit with the opening of UMass-Boston and the Medical School, there was an increasing conflict between the Office of the Dean of Students on the Amherst campus and the growing demands for a responsive administrative hierarchy. In 1970, the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs was therefore created to provide an appropriate level of supervision for the various Student Affairs divisions with regard to budget, personnel and administration. The Office of the Dean of Students then became a student contact-based office, which cooperated and collaborated with the other divisions.

This series consists of the records of the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs.

Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

RG 030/1/1
Office of Jewish Affairs
RG 030/1/1/1
Operations Council

RG 030/1/2
Committees in Student Affairs

RG 030/1/3
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Campus Activities
RG 030/1/4
Assistant Vice Chancellor/Dean for Enrollment
RG 030/1/5
Special Services

RG 030/1/6
Dean of Students

RG 030/2
Assistant Dean of Students

RG 030/2/1

RG 030/2/2
Office of Greek Affairs

RG 030/2/3
Information Data Bank (IDB)

RG 030/2/4
Mastery Learning Center

RG 030/2/5
Program for Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Concerns
RG 030/2/6
Dean of Women

RG 030/3
Dean of Academic Support Services

RG 030/4
University Tour Service
RG 030/4/1
Educational Talent Search Program
RG 030/4/2

RG 030/5

RG 030/6
Transfer Affairs

RG 030/7
Exchange Programs

RG 030/8
Student Development and Career Planning Center

RG 030/9
Counseling Center

RG 030/9/1
New Students Program (summer counseling)

RG 030/9/2
Career Planning and Placement Service

RG 030/9/5
Campus Career Network
RG 030/9/7
Room to Move (drug drop-in center)

RG 030/10
Chaplains, Religion

RG 030/11
Newman Center

RG 030/11/1
Chabad House

RG 030/11/2
United Christian Foundation (UCF)

RG 030/12
Outreach Mobile Unit

RG 030/13
Financial Aid, Scholarships

RG 030/14
Health Services

RG 030/15
Division of Health Education

RG 030/15/2
Peer Sex Education Program

RG 030/15/2/2
Demonstration Alcohol Education Project

RG 030/15/2/3
Mental Health Services

RG 030/15/3
Environmental Health and Safety

RG 030/15/4
Campus Building Ventilation Working Group

RG 030/15/4/1
Employee Assistance Program (EPA)

RG 030/15/5
Valley Health Plan

RG 030/15/13
Committee on Facilities for the Handicapped

RG 030/16
Public Safety

RG 030/17

RG 030/18

RG 030/19
Parking Coordinator, Transportation

RG 030/20
Housing Assignment Office

RG 030/21
Office of Residential Resource Management

RG 030/21/1

Formerly Housing Services

Office of Community Development and Human Relation

RG 030/22
Life/Career Development Team

RG 030/22/1
Recognized Student Organizations Office (RSO)

RG 030/23
Academic Activities Board

RG 030/23/2
RSO Sub-Committee of Student Affairs Committee

RG 030/23/3
Advisory Council of Women

RG 030/24
Commuter Student Affairs

RG 030/25
Black Culture Center (New Africa House)

RG 030/26
Nummo News (see also NOMMO (1990-94), RG 45/00/N6)
RG 030/26/N8
Student Affairs Research and Evaluation Office (SAREO)/ Student Affairs Research, Information and Systems (SARIS)

RG 030/27
Veterans Affairs, Office of (Veterans Assistance and Counseling Services)

RG 030/28
Handicapped Student Affairs (Disability Services, 1990- )
RG 030/29
Student Activities Office

RG 030/30

Renamed the Center for Student Development.

Office of ALANA Affairs
RG 030/30/1

Collection contains newsletters and other publications, historical files, ALANA Caucus materials, meeting minutes and files pertaining to ALANA RSOs.

Director's files and budget materials are restricted.

Residential Education Alcohol Program (REAP)
RG 030/31
New Student Orientation (NSO) and Transitions
RG 030/32
Housing Services

RG 32
Publications (except as noted below)

RG 032/00
Director of Residence Life

RG 032/1
Residential Life Board (RLB)

RG 032/2
Child Care Advisory Committee

RG 032/4
Project 10, Inquiry Program

RG 032/5
Budget and Finance

RG 032/6
Residential Education East

RG 032/7
Residential Education West

RG 032/8

RG 032/9
Family Housing

RG 032/10
Maintenance and Operations

RG 032/11
Greek Affairs

RG 032/12
Housing Assignments

RG 032/13
Residential Academic Programs

RG 032/14
Housing Services Cable Network (HSCN)
RG 032/15
Office of Residence Life
RG 032/16
Administrative Services

RG 35
Publications (except as noted below)

RG 035/00
Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services

RG 035/1

Formerly Dean of Administration

Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance

RG 035/1/1
Personnel-Payroll (Human Resources Office)

RG 035/2
Labor Relations

RG 035/2/1
Business Office, Director of Personnel and Financial Services

RG 035/3
Controller (Amherst Campus)

RG 035/4
Accounting, Cashiering

RG 035/5

RG 035/6
Data Processing Center (DPC) /University Information Systems

RG 035/7
Mail Services

RG 035/8

RG 035/9
Copy Centers

RG 035/10
Food Services

RG 035/11
Housing Administration

RG 035/12
Apartments (Lincoln, University, and North Village)

RG 035/12/1
Married Student Housing Committee

RG 035/12/2
UMass Tenant Association (UMTA)

RG 035/12/3
Property and Receiving

RG 035/13
Coordinator of Labor Relations

RG 035/14
Community Relations

RG 035/15

RG 035/16

RG 035/17
Financial Affairs

RG 035/18
Auxiliary Services

RG 035/19
Budget Office

RG 035/20
Parking Services
RG 035/21
Financial Analysis and Systems

RG 035/22
Physical Plant
RG 36
Publications (except as noted below)

RG 036/00
Director, Physical Plant Department

RG 036/1
Asbestos Control Office

RG 036/2

RG 036/5
Office of Solid Waste Management
RG 036/10

Formerly Waste Management and Moving Services

Building Authority

RG 036/21
Building Association

RG 036/22
Massachusetts Commission on Corruption (Ward Commission)

RG 036/23
Subject files (other than specific buildings or parts of campus)

RG 036/50
Coed Bathrooms
RG 036/50/B3
Cellular Tower
RG 036/50/C4
RG 036/50/C6
Distinguished Architecture
RG 036/50/D5
Ellis Drive
RG 036/50/E4
Fire Insurance
RG 036/50/F3
Flag Staff
RG 036/50/F4
Class of 1882 Fountain

RG 036/50/F5
Galleries and Public Art Sites

RG 036/50/G2
RG 036/50/L5
Chain Link Mazes
RG 036/50/M3
Memorial Stones and Plaques

RG 036/50/M4

RG 036/50/M5
Olmsted Drive
RG 036/50/O6
Pelham Quarry
RG 036/50/Q8
RG 036/50/R3
Rifle Range
RG 036/50/R4

RG 036/50/S8
Senior Fence

RG 036/50/S8.5
Sewer Lines
RG 036/50/S8.75
RG 036/50/S9
Solar Habitat
RG 036/50/S10
Tree Planting On Campus
RG 036/50/T6
Trees (including Japanese trees)

RG 036/50/T7

RG 036/50/T8
Water Crisis
RG 036/50/W3
Water Supply

RG 036/50/W4
Campus Maps

RG 036/100
Specific buildings or parts of campus

RG 036/101-104
Specific Buildings (except residential)

RG 036/101

This extensive series contains information regarding many of the buildings, including academic, residential, administrative and auxiliary services, on the Amherst campus. Also found in this series are materials about some of the outlying University facilities. The files include histories, correspondence, reports, dedications, descriptions, floor plans, newsclippings, inventory lists of furnishings, artifacts and other related items.

Residential buildings

RG 036/102
Central Area

RG 036/102/C4
North Village Apartments

RG 036/102/N5

RG 036/102/N6
Orchard Hill

RG 036/102/07

RG 036/102/S6

RG 036/102/S9
Buildings proposed but not built

RG 036/103
Segments of Campus

RG 036/104
Botanic Garden

RG 036/104/B6
William Smith Clark Memorial
RG 036/104/C4
Commemorative Gardens

RG 036/104/C6
Durfee Garden
RG 036/104/D8
Hadley Farm

RG 036/104/H5
Haigis Mall

RG 036/104/H6
Metawampe Lawn

RG 036/104/M5
North Pleasant Street

RG 036/104/N6

1968 Joint Town-University Task Force

Campus Pond and Isle of View

RG 036/104/P6
Rhododendron Garden

RG 036/104/R5
Waugh Arboretum
RG 036/104/W3
West Campus (A design proposal)
RG 036/104/W4
Campus Center, Student Union

RG 37
Campus Center

RG 037/1
Dining Services

RG 037/2
Hotel Operations

RG 037/3
Events Office
RG 037/4
University Store

RG 037/5
Print Shop

RG 037/6
Travel Office

RG 037/7
Textbook Annex

RG 037/8
Campus Center/Student Union (CC/SU) Commission
RG 037/9
Student Union

RG 037/10
Board of Governors

RG 037/11
University Relations and Development/University Advancement
RG 39

After September 1983, the unit was administered by Vice-Chancellor for University Relations and Development; the records themselves are held in the originating office. The name changed in Fall of 1993 to Vice Chancellor for University Advancement.

Publications (except as noted below)

RG 039/00
Vice Chancellor for University Relations and Development/University Advancement)

RG 039/1
Administrative Staff

RG 039/1/1
Associate Vice Chancellor for University Advancement--University Relations
RG 039/1/2
State Relations

RG 039/3
Design and Production

RG 039/6
Editorial Services

RG 039/7
Publications Department
RG 039/8
International Fund
RG 039/9
Science and Technology Advancement (STA)
RG 039/10
Faculty and Staff
RG 40

The Archives holds material on over 5,000 individual faculty and staff members, ranging from vitae and resumes to research notes, newsclippings, and publications. Materials for faculty who also held adminstrative positions may be filed in the relevant record group(s). More substantial collections of faculty papers are designated by the call number FS.

Publications (except as noted below)

RG 040/00
Faculty in general

RG 040/1
Meetings (College and University)

RG 040/1/1

RG 040/1/2

RG 040/1/3

RG 040/1/4

RG 040/1/5
Sabbatical Leave

RG 040/1/6
Travel Funds

RG 040/1/7
Retired Faculty

RG 040/1/8
Commonwealth Professorships

RG 040/1/9
Faculty Residence Program

RG 040/1/10
Awards (from outside sources)

RG 040/1/11
Official University Committees and Faculty Senate
RG 040/2
Faculty Senate, minutes and agenda

RG 040/2/A1
Educational Policies Council

RG 040/2/A1.1

The Educational Policies Council was preceded by the Curriculum Committee and the Course of Study Committee.

Academic Matters Committee

RG 040/2/A2
Faculty Senate Committees

RG 040/2/A3
Faculty Senate Documents

RG 040/2/A4
Faculty Senate Secretary

RG 040/2/A5
University Committe on Aids
RG 040/2/A5.5
University Committee on Alcohol Use
RG 040/2/A6
Biotechnology Program Committee
RG 040/2/B5
Campus Awareness Committee
RG 040/2/C.5
Catalogue 148
RG 040/2/C1
RG 040/2/C2
Centennial Committee
RG 040/2/C2.1
Chancellor's Commission on Civility in Human Relations
RG 040/2/C3
University China Committee
RG 040/2/C4
Classroom Improvement Committee
RG 040/2/C4.5
Committee on Overseas Programs and Exchanges (COPE)
RG 040/2/C5
Communications-Related Disciplines and Center for Massachusetts Communications
RG 040/2/C6
Computer Study
RG 040/2/C6.5
Provost's Task Force on Academic Computing
RG 040/2/C6.7
Ad hoc Committee on Consensual Relations
RG 040/2/C6.9
RG 040/2/C7
RG 040/2/C8
Ad hoc Curriculum
1966, 1968
RG 040/2/C9
Student Curriculum
RG 040/2/C9.5
Dental Hygiene
RG 040/2/D4
Development Advisory Council
RG 040/2/D5
Commission on Campus Diversity
RG 040/2/D5.5
Educational Liaison Project
RG 040/2/E3
RG 040/2/E4
RG 040/2/E5
Environmental Resource Coordinating Committee
RG 040/2/E7
Faculty Guide Committee
RG 040/2/F1
University Faculty Senate, ad hoc Committee

RG 040/2/F2
RG 040/2/F3
Future University of Massachusetts
RG 040/2/F8
The Chancellor's Task Force on Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Concerns
RG 040/2/G2
Support Group for Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Concerns
RG 040/2/G3
Graduate School
RG 040/2/G7
Health Program
RG 040/2/H4
University History Committee
RG 040/2/H5
Honorary Degrees
RG 040/2/H7
Housing Services Review Committee
RG 040/2/H7.5
Human Subjects Review
RG 040/2/H8
Task Force on Increased Recruitment
RG 040/2/I4
RG 040/2/I5
Law School
RG 040/2/L1
Committee on University Lectures
RG 040/2/L1.5
RG 040/2/L2
1911-1957 (bulk1951-1957)
RG 040/2/L3
Library Task Force Report
RG 040/2/L3.5
Joint Committee on Literature
RG 040/2/L5
Marine Sciences Facilities at Cape Ann, ad hoc
RG 040/2/M3
Massachusetts Agricultural Review
RG 040/2/M4
Massachusetts State College in the Post-War Period
RG 040/2/M4.5
Mid-Winter Alumni Day
RG 040/2/M5
Minority Student Services Review Commission
RG 040/2/M6
Missions and Goals
RG 040/2/M8
Chancellor's Task Force on Multicultural Issues
RG 040/2/M9
Multicultural Student Union Committee
RG 040/2/M10
M.A.C. News Service
RG 040/2/N4
Ombudsman Selection
RG 040/2/O4
Parents' Day
RG 040/2/P2
Parking and Transportation Council
RG 040/2/P3
Selection of a President
RG 040/2/P6
Chancellor's Committee on Professional Personnel
RG 040/2/P7
Project Bridge
RG 040/2/P8
RG 040/2/P9
Publications Policy
RG 040/2/P9.1
Publications and Public Relations
RG 040/2/P9.2
RG 040/2/P9.5
Faculty Working Group on Racial Awareness and Cultural Diversity
RG 040/2/R3
Recycling Committee
RG 040/2/R3.5
RG 040/2/R4
Resident Assistant Role Review Committee
RG 040/2/R4.5
Retention Committee (student drop-out problem)
RG 040/2/R5
President's Committee on Room Rents and Fees
RG 040/2/R6
Campus Safety
RG 040/2/S1
Safety Committee
RG 040/2/S1.5

Report of the Graduate Research Center

RG 040/2/S2
Salaries and Cost of Living
RG 040/2/S2.5
Advisory Committee for Scheduling
RG 040/2/S2.7
RG 040/2/S3
Future School of Education
RG 040/2/S4
Specific Committee on Service Learning Curriculum
RG 040/2/S4.2
Sexual Assault Advisory Committee
RG 040/2/S4.5
State Relationships
RG 040/2/S5
Stockbridge School
RG 040/2/S6
Strategic Planning Process
RG 040/2/S6.5
Student Activities
RG 040/2/S7
Student Life
Task Force on Super Conductors
RG 040/2/S8
Teaching Principles
RG 040/2/T3
Traffic and Parking Appeals Board
RG 040/2/T7
Undergraduate Retention Committee
RG 040/2/U4
University College
RG 040/2/U5
University Community Service Council
RG 040/2/U6
Valuation of Courses
RG 040/2/V3
Women's News in the Collegian
RG 040/2/W6
Faculty and staff committees and organizations not appointed by an official unit

RG 040/3
Academic Advisors' Council
RG 040/3/A.5
Faculty Group for Academic Freedom
RG 040/3/A1
Ad hoc Faculty/Librarian Action Committee
RG 040/3/A1.5
Applied Behavioral Science Alliance ( ABSA)
RG 040/3/A6
Army Reserve Unit
RG 040/3/A7
Coordinating Committee on the Campus Convention on the Future of Public Higher Education
RG 040/3/C2
Demography Group
RG 040/3/D4
Disarmament Study Group
RG 040/3/D5
Committee for Human Rights and a Responsible University
RG 040/3/H7
Committee for Human Rights in the Soviet Area
RG 040/3/H8
Jewish Faculty Professional Group
RG 040/3/J4
Literary Society
RG 040/3/L4
Metawampe Club
RG 040/3/M4
Northeast Quadrangle President's Council, Housing sub committee
RG 040/3/N6
On Campus Alumni Club
RG 040/3/O5
UMass Faculty/Staff for Peace and Justice in the Middle East
RG 040/3/P1
Faculty and Staff for Peace in Central America
RG 040/3/P2
Phi Beta Kappa
RG 040/3/P3
Phi Kappa Phi
RG 040/3/P4
Faculty Group of Principal Investigators
RG 040/3/P7
Shubenacadie Club
RG 040/3/S3
Sigma Xi
RG 040/3/S4
Faculty Committee on Trusteeship and Faculty Salaries
RG 040/3/T7
Vietnam Moratorium, Faculty for
RG 040/3/V5
Women in German (WIG)
RG 040/3/W5
Joint committees of Faculty Senate and either or both Student Senates

RG 040/4
Unions and associations

RG 040/5
American Association of University Professors (AAUP)

RG 040/5/A2

See also MS 152, American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO Records.

Committee of Concerned Faculty

RG 040/5/C6
Committee of Four Hundred

RG 040/5/C6.5
Credit Union

RG 040/5/C7
Faculty Freedom Task Force
RG 040/5/F3
Committee for a Fully Informed Faculty
RG 040/5/F8
Massachusetts Society of Professors (MSP) (see also MS-266)

RG 040/5/M4
Massachusetts Society of Professors-American Association of University Professors (MSP-AAUP)

RG 040/5/M4.1
International Brotherhood of Police Officers (NAGE)

RG 040/5/P6
Professional Association of UMass at Amherst (PAUMA)

RG 040/5/P7
Professional Staff Appeals Committee

RG 040/5/P7.5
Professional Staff Organization (PSO)
RG 040/5/P7.7
Retired Staff Association
RG 040/5/R4
Local 1776, AFSCME (American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees); Council 41

RG 040/5/S4
Service Employees International Union (SEIU) (Local-509)

RG 040/5/S5
Socialistic Faculty Caucus

RG 040/5/S6
12 to 1 (Commonwealth Clericals)

RG 040/5/T9
UMass Labor Council
RG 040/5/U5
University Staff Association (USA)

RG 040/5/U6
University Women's Network (UWN)

RG 040/5/U7
Women In Staff Professional Positions (WISPP)

RG 040/5/W5
Faculty Club

RG 040/6
University Women

RG 040/7
Newcomer's Club

RG 040/7/2
Engineering Faculty Women's Club (Engineering Wives)

RG 040/7/3
Faculty and Staff Bibliographies (collective)

RG 040/9
Faculty and Staff Biographies, Lists, and Directories (collective)

RG 040/10
Individual Faculty and Staff

RG 040/11

Alphabetically arranged with biographies, publications, and other papers interfiled.

Student Body
155 lin. feet
RG 45

Record Group 45 represents the collected records of student activities from 1867, including the first entering class of Massachusetts Agricultural College, to the present. Included in the materials are reports, meeting minutes, correspondence, brochures and programs, newsclippings and student-sponsored publications, documents activities, issues, programs and growth of the student body through student government units and committees; ethnic, cultural and special interest groups; unions and associations; fine arts groups; honorary societies; religious groups; social action groups; fraternities and sororities; and student protests and demonstrations.

Professional student groups materials are housed separately with the department, school, or discipline with which they are affiliated.

Student publications
53 lin. feet
RG 045/00

This series consists of the collected student publications from Massachusetts Agricultural College (1867-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007) and includes student newspapers, magazines, newsletters, inserts, yearbooks, and songbooks, which are not necessarily affiliated with a special student interest group or academic department on campus. Limited amounts of administrative materials are available and filed separately for some of the publications.

The New Senate AGENDA
RG 045/00/A1
Aggie Banqueteer
RG 045/00/A2
Aggie Life
2.5 lin. feet
RG 045/00/A3

First published in 1890 as a semi-monthly student newspaper of the Massachusetts Agricultural College, Aggie Life's mission was to record all matters of general interest concerning the College, students and alumni, and to provide a forum for student writing. Prior to 1890, weekly college news appeared in a column of the local town newspaper, The Amherst Record. In 1901, after the students voted to discontinue using the term Aggie to identify student publications, Aggie Life was renamed the College Signal.

Newspaper contains campus and alumni news, feature stories, student editorials and literary works, photographs, advertisements and sports information. Also included in this collection are Aggie Life and College Signal secretary's book (1893-1905), Aggie Life Banquet materials (1891), and unbound issues of Aggie Life (1900-1901).

Issues arranged chronologically within bound volumes.

Aggie News Letter
RG 045/00/A4
Au Present
RG 045/00/A8
Bay State Ruralist
RG 045/00/B2
Biblio file
1987, 1994
RG 045/00/B4
Book for Little Loving Children Needing Guidance, 1 + 1 is not equal to 3
RG 045/00/B6
Butter Meter News
RG 045/00/B8
RG 045/00/C3

Issues contain a blend of original student (and some faculty) prose, poetry, short stories and artwork. Notable contributors included Robert L. Levey (class of 1960), Beverly (Buffy) Sainte-Marie (class of 1962), Paul E. Theroux (class of 1963) and faculty member, Jules Chametzky (see FS 1). Included in the collection are some clippings pertaining to the history of Caesura. Caesura was also published under previous titles:

  • The Literary Magazine (1958-1962)
  • The Quarterly (1946-1958)
  • The Collegian Quarterly (1937-1946)

Carbunkle Review
RG 045/00/C4
RG 045/00/C4.5
RG 045/00/C4.7
College Monthly
RG 045/00/C5
The Massachusetts Daily Collegian
38 lin. feet
RG 045/00/C6

The Massachusetts Daily Collegian, successor to the College Signal, began as a weekly student newspaper in 1914. In 1951 it moved to semi-weekly publication and then to three-times-weekly in 1957. In 1967 it became a daily newspaper, changing its title to The Massachusetts Daily Collegian. From the early 1930s to the late 1940s, Professor Maxwell Goldberg guided the Collegian staff as a faculty advisor. Today, the Collegian operates without a faculty advisor as a financially independent agency funded by advertisement monies. The Massachusetts Daily Collegian is part of the Division of Campus Activities under the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs.

The nature of the content of the Collegian has changed over the years, particularly since the 1940s when, as a result of campus involvement in WWII and University growth, the newspaper expanded its scope to include information pertaining to broader campus issues and world events, campus news and announcements, world news (primarily since the early 1950s), editorials, columns and opinion pieces, sports news, photographs, and student comics are regular components. Special feature pages were introduced in the late 1970s for Women; World News; Arts and Living; Black Affairs; Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual Issues; and Jewish Affairs. Other materials in this collection include reports, special and anniversary issues, and articles and news clippings pertaining to The Massachusetts Daily Collegian. Administrative files on the Women's Occupation of the Collegian office in 1978, are also included.

The complete set of publications (1914-2007) is available on microfilm. It is housed as #A334 in the library's microfilm collection.

Collegian Quarterly
0.5 lin. feet
RG 045/00/C6.2

The Collegian Quarterly first appeared 1937 and 1938 in newspaper format as a literary supplement to The Massachusetts Collegian to "offer the [Massachusetts State College] student an outlet for the expression of his Ideas and Experience." Under the guidance of the Academic Activities Board, the Collegian Quarterly Board (consisting of the Editor, Associate Editor and Assistant Editor) and staff edited and published four issues each academic year. Starting in the autumn of 1938, the Collegian Quarterly was printed in a smaller booklet format, although the 1944 issue was printed in newspaper format. The name changed in 1946 to Quarterly and in 1958 to The Literary Magazine. The Literary Magazine was succeeded by Caesura in 1962.

Issues contain student prose and poetry, photographs, and sketches, as well as advertisements. Included in the collection is one small folder containing memoranda, newsclippings and a 1981 note from Dr. Max Goldberg detailing some historical information on the Collegian Quarterly.

Arranged chronologically by year in bound volumes (1937-1952); loose issues exist for 1955 and 1958.

College Signal
3.0 lin. feet
RG 045/00/C6.4

The records of the Aggie Life and the College Signal secretary (1893-1905) are included in this series. Collection consists of bound volumes (1901-1914) and unbound issues (1901-1905).

Also available on microfilm: College Signal (1901-1914), RG 190/12.

RG 045/00/C7
Contemporary University Newsletter
RG 045/00/C7.2
RG 045/00/C7.4
Creative Voice
RG 045/00/C7.8
Critical Times
RG 045/00/C8
RG 045/00/D7
RG 045/00/E4
Free Press
RG 045/00/F6
Freshman Register
RG 045/00/F6.5
Friday War-Cry
RG 045/00/F7
RG 045/00/G7
RG 045/00/H6
Houyhnhum (Orchard Hill)
RG 045/00/H7
RG 045/00/I3
RG 045/00/I4
14 lin. feet
RG 045/00/I5

The first undergraduate yearbook was published in 1869 and described by its editors as "a pamphlet designed to represent the internal growth and status of the College, and which we hope may prove of interest alike to members of the College and to the public". Originally the junior class was responsible for its organization and publication; however in 1934, both the junior and senior classes produced their own separate editions. From 1935 to 2006, the yearbook was organized and published by the senior class. The yearbook was discontinued during the 2006-2007 academic year.

The archives maintain several copies of the Index for reference and research. There is occasional documentation of protests and demonstrations; dignitaries, scholars and performers visiting campus; military presence on campus; status of library and greenhouse collections; art and horticultural shows; world events; and advertisements. The first individual student photographs appeared in the 1902 Index. In recent years, only a small fraction of the graduating class has elected to have portraits included. Recent yearbooks also include information on the five-college consortium, surrounding communities, campus maps and transportation.

Intercollegiate Daily News
RG 045/00/I6
Kick Off
RG 045/00/K5
La Resistance
RG 045/00/L2
Left Field
RG 045/00/L2.3
RG 045/00/L2.5
MAC Literary Monthly
RG 045/00/L4
Little Dipolmant (Ft. Devens)
RG 045/00/L5
Maroon and White
RG 045/00/M2
Mass Action
RG 045/00/M3
Massachusetts Collision
RG 045/00/M4
Massachusetts Free Press
RG 045/00/M4.5
RG 045/00/M5

The Minuteman is an independent student newspaper published by The Silent Majority, a Registered Student Organization of the University of Massachusetts Amherst. First published in the spring of 1986, the newspaper, according to its first editors, "provides a forum for alternative political views seldom expressed in existing campus media."

Arranged chonologically by date.

Multicultural UMass Community
RG 045/00/M8
News and Notes
RG 045/00/N4
News Project (an insert in the Collegian)
RG 045/00/N5
RG 045/00/N5.5
RG 045/00/N6
Out Front
RG 045/00/09
RG 045/00/P4
Poetry Circular
RG 045/00/P5
RG 045/00/P6
Progressive Student

RG 045/00/P7
RG 045/00/Q8
Razor Blade
RG 045/00/R2
RG 045/00/R3
Sam Spank's Greatest Hits
RG 045/00/S2
2.5 lin. feet
RG 045/00/S3

First published in 1921, Shorthorn was the yearbook of the two-year Stockbridge School of Agriculture of the Massachusetts Agricultural College, Massachusetts State College, and the University of Massachusetts. The name changed to STOSAG in 1958.

Shorthorn Newsletter
RG 045/00/S3/1
Songbooks and Songs

RG 045/00/S4
RG 045/00/S5
RG 045/00/S6

RG 045/00/S7

Also the Summer Statesman, Crier, Summer Crier, Summer News, Summer Time, and Solstice

RG 045/00/S8

The Stockbridge School of Agriculture yearbook, previously published as Shorthorn (1921-1957), was renamed STOSAG in 1958 on the 40th anniversary of the school's establishment in 1918. It ceased publication after the 1995 edition.

Student Newsnote on Massachusetts Higher Education
RG 045/00/S8.6
Student To Student
RG 045/00/S9
Summer School Wail

RG 045/00/S10
Sylvan Parchment
RG 045/00/S11
RG 045/00/T2
Transitions (MGSA Newsletter)
RG 045/00/T7
RG 045/00/T8
RG 045/00/T9
ca. 1975
RG 045/00/U4
Valley Review
RG 045/00/V3
Weekly Biff
RG 045/00/W4
Weekly News
RG 045/00/W5
1 lin. foot
RG 045/00/Y2

Yahoo, a collegiate humor magazine, was first published in 1954 by students at University of Massachusetts Amherst "to satirize college life in general and to expose the humorous institutions of the University in particular." The magazine also provided a forum for student expression and opinion on broader contemporary issues. Yahoo earned the description "ill-fated" in 1966, when it finally became too outrageous for its time. Following a verbal barrage by Senator John Harrington (D-Lowell) who was displeased by cartoons, the university administration cut Student Senate funds from Yahoo in 1966. Following the suspension, an "unmentionable" campus humor magazine was published in 1968, under the titles "Magazine" and "NO". In the spring of 1969, Yahoo returned to campus when the Trustees approved the re-use of the name Yahoo for the "unnamed" campus humor magazine. The last issues of Yahoo were published in 1973.

Magazines contain feature articles, short stories, editorials, poems, cartoons, sketches, photographs, and advertising. Organization records include constitutions, board and committee files, correspondence, and newsclippings.

Published issues arranged chronologically by year in bound volumes (1954-1966); loose issues, 1967-1973. Organizational records are arranged alphabetically.

RG 045/00/Y5
Zu News
RG 045/00/Z8
Student Senate/Student Government Association (SGA)

20.25 lin. feet
RG 045/1

In 1899, undergraduate students at the Massachusetts Agricultural College initiated efforts to form a College Senate and in 1901, the Student Senate was established. It grew in size and authority as a result of an increased need for strict enforcement of conduct in a growing student body. By the early 1920s, student government rested in the hands of four organizations: Student Senate (executive body for all four year students), Women's Student Council, the Honor Council, and Adelphia.

In 1948, when a new constitution reorganized the Student Government into Legislative, Administrative, and Judicial branches, the Student Senate was placed within the Legislative. Its function was to "exert a governing influence on student conduct and activities, represent the interests of the student body before the faculty and the administration, supervise and determine the procedure of student elections, appoint committees, and make expenditures from a fund provided for it by the men of this college." With the creation of residence halls and area governments in the late 1960s, the role of the Student Senate was re-examined. The result was a larger and more formal student governing body with many committees handling such areas as budget and finance, services, elections, announcements, women's affairs, and other areas of student concern.

This collection consists of bound meeting minutes of the Student Senate secretary (1901-1948) and administrative materials (1909-1922, 1960s-early 1980s) including by-laws, constitutions, budget materials, unbound meeting minutes, committee records, correspondence, newsclippings and subject files. The early meeting minutes (1901-1948) document discussions and decisions relating to student conduct and discipline. Topics included traditional rope pull, hazing, social events, banquets, sports related issues and smoking on campus.

Also available are 15 boxes (18.75 lin. feet) of unprocessed administrative files, ca. 1950-1990 which are located off site; prior notice for access is required.


RG 045/1/1
RG 045/1/2

The undergraduate judicial system of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst is based on the Code of Student Conduct (CSC). The CSC serves as an umbrella document which covers any undergraduate student enrolled in or accepted for an academic program, or any student residing in University housing facilities. It incorporates and empowers other policies, which are enforced through procedures set up by the CSC. The University has always had standards of behavior for its community. In 1967 the first Code of Student Conduct of the modern era was approved. It addressed issues of safety and civility, academic honesty, financial obligations, and residence hall living. In the summer of 1986, major revisions were introduced to the Code of Student Conduct. Since that time, additional changes have occurred.

Included in the record are First Annnual Report to the Umass Student Government Association on the Office of the Attorney General (1980), policy acts and statements (1971), Judicial System Manuals (1971), report of the ad hoc Committee on Judicial Review (1971), an Overview of the Undergraduate Judicial System (1988) and newsclippings.

Attorney: Legal Services Office (LSO)
.25 lin. feet
RG 045/2

Discussions between the Dean of Students and the Student Senate led to the hiring of an attorney, Richard Howland, in September 1970 as general counsel to undergraduates to advise students without representing them in any litigation. In the mid-1970s, the students increased their financial support of the program, with appropriations from the Graduate Student Senate and the Student Government Association (Student Activities Tax), in order to expand the staff and allow attorneys to represent students in specific types of cases. In 1973, the Legal Services Office (LSO) was created to "provide counseling, advice, representation, and education to the student body of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst concerning all legal matters." In 1975, in response to student demands, the Trustees recognized the authority of the LSO to litigate on behalf of students in cases against the University. In 1986, the Trustees, acting upon recommendations of University administrators, revoked its recognition of the LSO's authority to represent students in cases against the University or in criminal cases.

After a number of years of dispute, the President and Chancellor reviewed the issue and in 1993 the Trustees passed a resolution that allowed student activities fees to continue to be used for LSO operations "provided that the office, which is supported by University funds, shall not engage in litigation either in court or before administrative agencies, against the Commonwealth or any of its agencies, subdivisions or instrumentalities including the University, or any municipality, or any officer, trustee, agent or employee of any of the foregoing for actions related to their official duties or responsibilities."

Collection consists of Legal Services Office board minutes (1979-1981), correspondence (1979-1983), The Students Rights Advocate (1989-1991,1997), typescript history of LSO by Robert Gage (1975), brochures and flyers, and newsclippings.

Women's Student Government Association (WSGA)
.5 lin. feet
RG 045/4

The Women's Student Government Association, initially the Women's Student Council, was formed in 1919 as the self-governing body for women students. All female students were considered ipso facto members of the Association, and if enrolled for a minimum of one year, eligible to vote. Its purpose was to establish guidelines for student conduct and "make each member feel responsibility to herself, to the Association, and to the college; and to give each girl a conception of citizenship which will hold not only in [the] college community but in the greater group after college."

Materials in the collection consist of a Women's Student Council history extracted from the 1931 "Index", correspondence to and from the Women's Judiciary Board (1955), Handbooks for Women (1929, 1936-1942), Centennial Focus on Women program (1963), policy for Award of Honor to Women Students (n.d) and newsclippings (1920, 1984). The handbook issued annually to female students by the WSGA included the constitution and by-laws of the Association; regulations governing residential housing and general personal conduct; and information about female students' clubs and organizations at the college, including sororities.

Stockbridge Senate

RG 045/5
Summer Student Government

RG 045/6
Student Senate Committees

RG 045/7
Academic Affairs

RG 045/7/A2
Auto Pool

RG 045/7/A8

RG 045/7/B8

RG 045/7/C6
Faculty and Educational Policy

RG 045/7/F3
Lecture Note Program

RG 045/7/L4
Public Policy

RG 045/7/P8
RG 045/7/R4
Rents and Fees

RG 045/7/R5
Student Life
RG 045/7/S7
Transit Service

RG 045/7/T7
Joint Committees

RG 045/8
Southwest Area Government (SWAG)

RG 045/9
Student Center for Educational Research and Advocacy (SCERA)
1 lin. foot
RG 045/10

Formed in 1978 by the merging of the Student Organizing Project (SOP) and the Student Center for Educational Research (SCER), the Student Center for Educational Research and Advocacy (SCERA) is today the research and advocacy arm of the Undergraduate Student Senate. SCERA, consisting of students and professional staff, analyzes existing programs, deciphers student education issues and needs, and advocates to improve student life, work and study at the University. The center also seeks to provide students with the skills and resources to do their own research and analysis and to organize to bring about change.

Included in the collection are in-depth study reports (1975-1981) on such topics as student housing, governance, budget, course and teacher evaluation, student racism, buildings and spaces. Also represented are administrative files containing meeting minutes, correspondence (1977, 1979-1980), and newsclippings.

Honor System

RG 045/11
Town Meeting (Student Action Committee)

RG 045/12
Progressive Candidates Pool

RG 045/13
Northeast Area Government

RG 045/14
Black Students at UMass and in Western Massachusetts

RG 045/15
Sylvan Area Government

RG 045/16
Union Program Council (UPC)

RG 045/17
Off Campus Housing Office (OCHO)/Commuter Services and Housing Resources Center, 1993- )

RG 045/18
Black Student Union
RG 045/19
Graduate Student Senate
2.25 lin. feet
RG 045/20

In 1965, the Graduate Student Senate was established to work with administration and faculty in making policy recommendations on issues such as student housing, parking, and cultural matters. In 1972, a Graduate Student Senate Task Force was organized to explore ways of strengthening the Senate as an accountable and influential body and increasing its involvement in initiating, funding, and running student-related services. In 1977, a stronger Graduate Student constitution was passed. In 1978, the Graduate Student Senate (GSS) lent their support for UMass graduate student employee unionization and collective bargaining. Since its inception, the GSS has maintained involvement with campus governance by securing graduate representation on search committees and other campus-wide committees and by offering informational seminars.

Consists of meeting minutes (1964-1989), constitutions (1965, 1977), Report of the Joint Commission on Campus Governance (1971), committee materials, organizing materials for unionization and collective bargaining of graduate student employees (1973-1980), membership cards and lists (1970's), newsletters (1969-1970's), Graduate Student Senate newsletters (The Graduate Voice [1983-1990] and The Voice), newsclippings, announcements, and other subject material.

Media-other than publications
0.5 lin. feet
RG 045/30

Consists of constitutions, histories, committee minutes, memoranda, program guides, newsletters, newsclippings, flyers, and memorabilia of student-run media organizations including Black Mass Communications Project, Student Publications and Broadcast Board (1966, 1969), Soul TV, Union Video Center, UVC TV-Channel 19, WMUA (1948-2007), WOCH, WSUR (1988) and WSYL (1986).

Black Mass Communications Project (BMCP)
RG 045/30/B4
Publications and Broadcast Board, Student

RG 045/30/P8
Union Video Center (Student Video Project)

RG 045/30/U5
WMUA (FM Radio Station)

RG 045/30/W6
WOCH (Orchard Hill Radio Station, 1987)

RG 045/30/W7
WSUR (Southwest Radio Station)

RG 045/30/W8
WSYL (Sylvan Radio Station)

RG 045/30/W9
General/Special Interest Groups
11.25 lin. feet
RG 045/40

This series consists of the collected records of individual general and special interest student groups from Massachusetts Agricultural College (1867-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007). Represented are clubs, associations, centers, and collectives.

Abilities Unlimited
RG 045/40/A2
RG 045/40/A2.5
Afro-American Society
RG 045/40/A3.2
Agricultural Improvement Association
RG 045/40/A3.6
Allied Students Against Prejudice (ASAP)
RG 045/40/A4
Anti-Racism Coalition
RG 045/40/A5
ca. 1969
RG 045/40/A6
Armenian Students Club
RG 045/40/A7
Asian American Students Association (AASA)
RG 045/40/A8
Blues Band
RG 045/40/B4
Boarding Club, MAC
RG 045/40/B6.2
Book Club, MAC
RG 045/40/B6.4
Cambodian Student Association

RG 045/40/C2
Camera Club, Amherst
RG 045/40/C3
Cape Verdean Student Alliance (CVCA)
RG 045/40/C3.5
Counseling Assistance for Older Students (CAOS)
RG 045/40/C4
Chess Team
RG 045/40/C4.3
Chinese Student Club

RG 045/40/C4.5
College Bowl Team
RG 045/40/C5
Commuter Assembly

RG 045/40/C6
Co-ops and Businesses, Student Run

RG 045/40/C6.5
Craft Market

RG 045/40/C7
Craft Shop

RG 045/40/C9
Credit Union, Student Federal

RG 045/40/C10
Dames Club

RG 045/40/D3
Edward Everett Literary Society
RG 045/40/E3
Environmental Horticultural Club (Envhort)
RG 045/40/E5
Equestrian Drill Team

RG 045/40/E6
Escort Service

RG 045/40/E7
European Club
RG 045/40/E8
Fire and First Aid Unit

RG 045/40/F4
Flying Club, Collegiate

RG 045/40/F5
Flying Redman

RG 045/40/F5.4
Food Service Governance Board

RG 045/40/F6
People's Gay Alliance

RG 045/40/G3
Graduate Women's Network
RG 045/40/G7
Grievance Support Group
RG 045/40/G8
Haitian Student Association (HASA)

RG 045/40/H1
Hang Gliding Club

RG 045/40/H2
Handicapped Student Collective

RG 045/40/H3
Hands Club (sign language)
RG 045/40/H3.5
Hellenic Student Association
RG 045/40/H4
HillTop Health Club
RG 045/40/H5
Hindu Students Organization (HSO)
RG 045/40/H5.5
Hispanic Cultural Center
RG 045/40/H6
Hunger Task Force, UMass

RG 045/40/H8
Indian, Asian, Association

RG 045/40/I5
Institute of Food Technologists
RG 045/40/I5.2
International Club

RG 045/40/I5.3
Indian, American, Student Association

RG 045/40/I6
Japan America Club
RG 045/40/J3
Jewish Caucus

RG 045/40/J4
Juggling Club

RG 045/40/J8
Karate Club

RG 045/40/K2
Korean Student Association (KSA)
RG 045/40/K6
Latin American Cultural Center (LACC)

RG 045/40/L2
Lesbian Union

RG 045/40/L4
MAC Dramatic Society

RG 045/40/M3
Mass Aid

RG 045/40/M4
Minute Waltzer's
RG 045/40/M5
Muslim Students Association
RG 045/40/M8
Natural History Society
RG 045/40/N3.6
Non-academic computing (NAC)
RG 045/40/N6
Outing Club
RG 045/40/O9.3
Pakistani Student Association (PSA)
RG 045/40/P2
Parachute Club, Sport

RG 045/40/P3
People's Market

RG 045/40/P4
People's News-Stand

RG 045/40/P4.5
Photographer's Association

RG 045/40/P5
Portuguese Club

RG 045/40/P6
Poultry Club

RG 045/40/P6.5

RG 045/40/P7
Pre-Law Association

RG 045/40/P7.4
Pre-Medical Society

RG 045/40/P7.5
Amateur Radio Club
RG 045/40/R3
Reading Room Association

RG 045/40/R4
Record Club
RG 045/40/R4.5
Redemption Service, Student

RG 045/40/R5
RG 045/40/R5.5
Residential Recycling Program

RG 045/40/R6
Sailing Club

RG 045/40/S3
Science Fiction Club

RG 045/40/S4
Single Parents Association
RG 045/40/S4.1
Ski Club

RG 045/40/S4.2
South Asian Club
RG 045/40/S4.23
Sportsman Club
RG 045/40/S4.25
Stereo Co-ops

RG 045/40/S4.3
Students on Security (SOS)

RG 045/40/S4.5
State Student Association of Massachusetts (SSAM)

RG 045/40/S6.5
Students Advocating Financial Aid (SAFA)

RG 045/40/S6.7
Students Advocating Rights Together (START)

RG 045/40/S6.9
Student Competition on Relevant Engineering Inc. (SCORE)

RG 045/40/S7
Students for a Safe Campus
RG 045/40/S7.2
Student Network United To Fight Fires (SNUFF)

RG 045/40/S7.3
Student Notes and Printing Service (SNPS)

RG 045/40/S7.35
Student Nurses Association (SNA)
RG 045/40/S7.4
Students United for Public Education (SUPE)

RG 045/40/S7.5
Student Workshop on Activities Problems (SWAP)

RG 045/40/S8.8
Tenants Organizing Project
RG 045/40/T4
Tibetan Students Association (TSA)
RG 045/40/T5
Triathlon Club
RG 045/40/T7
Turkish Student Organization

RG 045/40/T8
Undergraduate Art Students Association (U-ARTS)

RG 045/40/U5
United Asia House
RG 045/40/U6
Varsity Club
RG 045/40/V3
Veterans Coalition

RG 045/40/V4
Veterans Service Organization (VSO)

RG 045/40/V4.5
Vietnamese Students Association

RG 045/40/V5
Volunteer Initiative Blending Education and Service (VIBES)
RG 045/40/V6
Volunteers Involved in Vital Action (VIVA)
RG 045/40/V7
Washington Irving Literary Society
RG 045/40/W3
Women's Admissions and General Support (WAGES)

RG 045/40/W6
Young Workers Liberation League (YWILL)

RG 045/40/Y6
Unions and Associations (authorized as bargaining agents for the student body)
0.5 lin. feet
RG 045/45

In the fall of 1974 students on campus were sparked into action when then Vice Chancellor Gage sent a memo to senate Speaker Cindy McGrath in which the vice chancellor declared his own veto power over the Senate. The result was the first student town meeting at his campus, and increased attention on the possibility of students acting independently of the administration. A second occurrence in 1975 was to forever change student and administration relations. The state of Massachusetts and the University experienced a drastic budget crisis, which resulted in major cutbacks in the budget here on campus. Hundreds of teaching assistant and research assistant positions were eliminated during the summer of 1975. Outraged at these attacks on their livelihood and on the quality of education on campus, but powerless to combat them, a small group of graduate students began discussing an organization for graduate students. The Graduate Student Employees Organizing Committee (GSEOC) was created in the fall of 1975. Since that time a number of student organizations have been formed to respond to relevant issues on the Amherst campus.

This collection consists of the records of individual undergraduate and graduate student organizations, committees, unions, coalitions, and projects (authorized as bargaining agents for the student body) whose main purpose since the mid-1970s is to bring campus students together into unified groups for mutual support, advocacy, and in the case of the Graduate Employees Organization, collective bargaining. Materials include agreements, handbooks, proposals and responses, memos and correspondence, open letters, newsletters, announcements, brochures, posters, bumper stickers, flyers, songs and chants, and newsclippings.

Graduate Employees Organization (GEO)

RG 045/45/G5
Graduate Employee Union Organization Committee (GEUOC)

RG 045/45/G6
Graduate Student Employees Union (GSEU)

RG 045/45/G7
Graduate Teachers Organization (GTO)

RG 045/45/G8
Public Student Coalition

RG 045/45/P8
Student Organizing Project

RG 045/45/O7
Student Unionization

RG 045/45/S7
Union of Student Employees

RG 045/45/U5
Fine Arts/program groups:
3.25 lin. feet
RG 045/50

Series consists of the following fine arts program groups: Roister Doisters (1910-1976), Distinguished Visitor's Program, Musical Clubs (1923, 1941-1942) and Arts and Music Committee (1963,1967).

Arts and Music Committee

RG 045/50/A7
Distinguished Visitor's Program (DVP)

RG 045/50/D5
Musical Clubs

RG 045/50/M8
Roister Doisters

RG 045/50/R6
Honorary Societies
RG 045/60

RG 045/50/A3
ALANA Honor Society (Asian Latino African Native American)

RG 045/50/A3.5
Alpha Lambda Delta

RG 045/50/A4.2
Alpha Phi Gamma

RG 045/50/A4.4
Alpha Pi Mu

RG 045/50/A4.5
Alpha Sigma Lambda

RG 045/50/A4.7
Alpha Zeta

RG 045/50/A4.9
Beta Gamma Sigma

RG 045/50/B2.5
Chi Epsilon

RG 045/50/C3
Eta Kappa Nu

RG 045/50/E4
Eta Sigma Delta

RG 045/50/E4.5
Eta Sigma Phi

RG 045/50/E4.55
Golden Key
RG 045/50/G3
Kappa Delta Phi

RG 045/50/K3

RG 045/50/L4
Maroon Key Society

RG 045/50/M3
Mortar Board

RG 045/50/M6
Omicron Delta Epsilon

RG 045/50/O4
Omicron Nu

RG 045/50/O4.5
Phi Alpha Theta

RG 045/50/P2
Phi Eta Sigma

RG 045/50/P5
Phi Kappa Phi
RG 045/50/P5.5
Phi Sigma Alpha

RG 045/50/P6
Pi Tau Sigma

RG 045/50/P6.5
Psi Chi

RG 045/50/P7

RG 045/50/R4

RG 045/50/S4
Sigma Lambda Alpha

RG 045/50/S4.25
Sigma Theta Tau

RG 045/50/S4.5
Tau Beta Pi

RG 045/50/T3
Upsilon Pi Epsilon

RG 045/50/U6
Xi Sigma Pi

RG 045/50/X5
Religious Groups
4.25 lin. feet
RG 045/70

The earliest student religious organization, at the Massachusetts Agricultural College, appears to have been established in 1868 as the College Christian Union. The object of this society was to gather moral and religious information of the world and to "promote the religious culture of its members." The next major organization represented is the YMCA (Young Men's Christian Association) (1891-1930s). The Newman Club was founded at the Massachusetts Agricultural College in 1929 and continues to serve students of the Catholic faith. In 1934 the Menorah Club was revived for Jewish students and later replaced by the B'nai B'rith Hillel Foundation. The 1940s saw the establishment of the Student Christian Association, which served Protestant students on Campus. Since the 1960s many other student religious organizations have organized to serve the students at UMass Amherst.

This series consists of the records of individual religious groups at the College and University. The two collections best represented are the Christian Science Organization (1947-1973) and B'nai B'rith Hillel Foundation (1955-1991).

Baha'i Club

RG 045/70/B3
Boston Church of Christ (BCC) (1990- )

RG 045/70/B6
Christian Association, Student

RG 045/70/C5.3
Christian Science Organization (CSO)
0.5 lin. feet
RG 045/70/C5.8

The Christian Science Organization (CSO) was established at the Massachusetts State College in the spring of 1947 "to unite the Christian Scientists at the College in the understanding of the true meaning of Christian Science." The organization at UMass was disbanded in 1989; however, in 1991, students from the Five College consortium institutions (Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith, and UMass) established a joint Christian Science Organization.

This series contains by-laws, biennial meeting minutes (1967), correspondence (1947-1967), treasurer's records (1965-1968), lecture committee records (1964-1972) and subject files such as World's Fair Activity (1965), Inter-Religious Activity (1964-1965), and "Christian Science Monitor" promotion (1962-1965).

College Christian Union

RG 045/70/C6
Divine Light Mission

RG 045/70/D5
3.75 lin. feet
RG 045/70/H5

As early as 1919, Jewish students organized a Menorah Society at the Massachusetts Agricultural College, for the purpose of furthering their intellectual and moral development. In the late 1930s it was replaced with the Menorah Club, whose goal was to fulfill the needs of Jewish students for the study of Jewish problems and the need of Jewish students for mutual acquaintance at the Massachusetts State College. In 1943, The University of Massachusetts Hillel Foundation, a branch of the national B'nai B'rith Hillel Foundation, was established as an organization on campus. Hillel's primary mission is to coordinate and support group activities of a social, cultural, educational, and religious nature for Jewish students.

This collection documents the activities and nature of the foundation from its one-room beginnings to its campus-wide involvement and its later move into its present Hillel House. While this collection is important for understanding the growth and impact of Hillel as an organization, there is little about its internal operations. Included are correspondence, reports, scrapbooks, announcements and calendars, subject files, newsclippings, publications and videotapes. Continued accretions of subject files include: announcements, calendars, programs, memoranda, newsclippings, and newsletters.

Hindu Students Organization (HSO)
RG 045/70/H5.5
Inter-Religious Project
RG 045/70/I5
Lubuvitch Movement

RG 045/70/L8
Memorah Club

RG 045/70/M4
New Testament Fellowship

RG 045/70/N3
Newman Club

RG 045/70/N4
Students International Meditation Society (SIMS)

RG 045/70/S8
UMass Pagan Association

RG 045/70/T3
Unification Church of America

RG 045/70/U5
Upside Down Club
RG 045/70/U7
Young Men's Christian Association (YMCA)

RG 045/70/Y5
Social Action Groups
9.75 lin. feet
RG 045/80

The early 1960s saw a rise in the number of student social and political action groups at University of Massachusetts Amherst. Young Republicans, Americans for Freedom Club, Martin Luther King Jr. Social Action Council and Students' Party were representative of these early groups some of whose goals were to identify discontent, raise social consciousness, and effect policy change at the University.

This series consists of the collected records of student social action groups for the College and University. Two groups well represented are the Radical Student Union (1968-1989) and the People for a Socially Responsible University (1989-1990).


RG 045/80/A4
ALANA (Asian Latino African Native American)

RG 045/80/A4.5
Amnesty International, UMass

RG 045/80/A5
Animal Rights Coalition (ARC)
RG 045/80/A6
Boltwood Project

RG 045/80/B6
Cannibus Reform Coalition (CRC)
RG 045/80/C3
Center for Diversity and Development (CDD)
RG 045/80/C4
Central America Solidarity Association (CASA)

RG 045/80/C5
Coalition for Environmental Quality (CEQ)

RG 045/80/C6

Renamed the Coalition for Environmental Action in 1974.

Concerned Students for Civil Rights (CSFCR)
RG 045/80/C6.5
Democratic Socialists of America (DSA)

RG 045/80/D4
Draft Counseling Services

RG 045/80/D7
Juvenile Opportunities Extension (JOE)

RG 045/80/J8
Latin American Solidarity Committee, Western Massachusetts

RG 045/80/L3
Martin Luther King Social Action and Lecture Group

RG 045/80/M3
Men Acting for Change (MAC)
RG 045/80/M4
Mobilization Committee, Student

RG 045/80/M6
New American Movement

RG 045/80/N4
Northern Educational Services

RG 045/80/N6.4
National Organization for Women (NOW)
RG 045/80/N7
Nutrition and Human Needs, Committee on

RG 045/80/N8
UMass Peacemakers (see also Peacemakers Records, MS-309)

RG 045/80/P4
People for a Socially Responsible University (PSRU)
0.5 lin. feet
RG 045/80/P5

In 1989, People for a Socially Responsible University (PSRU), a social action group at UMass, formed from within the Radical Student Union organization. The goal of PSRU was to stop military research at the university that was tied to the U.S. Department of Defense. More broadly, PSRU sought to build a university that would play a leading role in the development of a "new society" that would "empower the oppressed and remove control from any oppressor." In 1990, when the Student Activities Office informed PSRU that they were not a legal student group, they moved their office off-campus to downtown Amherst.

This series consists of newsletters, newsclippings, and flyers that document some of the goals, local activities and broader interests of the People for a Socially Responsible University.

People for Choice

RG 045/80/P6
Progressive Organization of Women's Rights (POWER)
RG 045/80/P7
Radical Student Union

7.5 lin. feet
RG 045/80/R1

By a constitutional amendment in 1980, the former Revolutionary Student Brigade (established in the late 1960s), changed its name to the Radical Student Union (RSU). The RSU seeks to provide the University community the opportunity to discuss and act upon political issues from an alternative viewpoint. In the decades of the 1960s and 1970s the RSU was very active with information distribution and demonstrations both on and off campus. Some of the diverse issues it addressed during this period included: Seabrook, Amherst Nursing Home Strike, Martin Luther King Week, Opposition to the "Human Life" movement, and U.S. Involvement in El Salvador. Between 1985 and 1989 the R.S.U. published the newspaper "Critical Times", predecessor of the "Liberator" (1989, 1994). An attempt to rename the RSU the Alliance for Student Power occurred in 1994.

The collection comprises constitutions, meetings minutes and agenda, budgets and financial statements, correspondence, membership lists, press releases and articles, news clippings, student papers, published materials, brochures, posters, song-lyrics and related materials.

Republican Club, University of Massachusetts (1983)

RG 045/80/R4
Revolutionary Communist Youth Brigade

RG 045/80/R6
Social Action, Center for

RG 045/80/S6
Student Action Committee
RG 045/80/S7.8
Student Alliance for Israel
RG 045/80/S7.9
Student Coalition

RG 045/80/S8
Student Volunteer Services (SVS)

RG 045/80/S9
Students for a Democratic Society (SDS)

RG 045/80/S8.2
Students for America (SFA)

RG 045/80/S8.3
Students for Political Action

RG 045/80/S8.4
Students Offering Support (SOS)

RG 045/80/S8.5
Students' Party

RG 045/80/S8.6
Third World Community Program
RG 045/80/T5
UMass Greens
RG 045/80/U4
United States Student Association (USSA)

RG 045/80/U5
University Democrats

RG 045/80/U6
VOX: Students For Choice
RG 045/80/V
RG 045/80/W3
W.E.B. Du Bois Petition Coalition
RG 045/80/W4
Women's Caucus and Vietnam Veterans Against the War
RG 045/80/W5
Women's Leadership Project
RG 045/80/W6
Young Americans for Freedom

RG 045/80/Y6
Young Communist League

RG 045/80/Y6.1
Young Democrats

RG 045/80/Y6.2
Young Independents

RG 045/80/Y6.4
Young Republicans

RG 045/80/Y6.8
Fraternities and Sororities
10.25 lin. feet
RG 045/90
Alpha Chi Omega

RG 045/90/A3.5
Alpha Delta Phi

RG 045/90/A4
Alpha Gamma Rho

RG 045/90/A4.2
Alpha Epsilon Pi

RG 045/90/A4.3
Alpha Phi Alpha

RG 045/90/A4.32
Alpha Phi Gamma

RG 045/90/A4.35
Alpha Phi Omega

RG 045/90/A4.4
Alpha Tau Gamma
RG 045/90/A4.6
RG 045/90/A7
Beta Kappa Phi

RG 045/90/B4
Chi Omega

RG 045/90/C5
College Shakespearean Club (Alpha Sigma Phi)

RG 045/90/C6
Delta Chi

RG 045/90/D4
Delta Phi Gamma

RG 045/90/D4.6
Delta Sigma Phi
RG 045/90/D4.7
Delta Zeta

RG 045/90/D4.8
DGK Fraternity

RG 045/90/D5
Iota Phi Theta

RG 045/90/I6
Kappa Gamma Phi

RG 045/90/K3.4
Kappa Kappa Gamma

RG 045/90/K3.6
Kappa Sigma

RG 045/90/K3.8
Lambda Chi Alpha

RG 045/90/L3
Lambda Delta Phi

RG 045/90/L3.6
Omega Psi Phi
RG 045/90/O6
Pan Hellenic Council

RG 045/90/P3
Phi Beta Sigma

RG 045/90/P4
Phi Delta Kappa

RG 045/90/P5
Phi Mu Delta

RG 045/90/P5.2
Phi Sigma Delta

RG 045/90/P5.5
Phi Sigma Kappa

RG 045/90/P5.6
Pi Beta Phi

RG 045/90/P5.7
Pi Kappa Alpha (PIKE)

RG 045/90/P5.9
Pi Kappy Phi
RG 045/90/P6
QTV Fraternity
RG 045/90/Q8
Sigma Alpha Epsilon

RG 045/90/S5.2
Sigma Alpha Mu

RG 045/90/S5.25
Sigma Delta Tau

RG 045/90/S5.3
Sigma Gamma Epsilon
RG 045/90/S5.35
Sigma Kappa

RG 045/90/S5.4
Sigma Phi Epsilon

RG 045/90/S5.5
Sigma Sigma Sigma

RG 045/90/S5.9


Social Union
RG 045/90/S6
Tau Kappa Epsilon

RG 045/90/T3
Theta Chi

RG 045/90/T4
Theta Phi

RG 045/90/T4.5
Zeta Nu

RG 045/90/Z5
Zeta Phi Beta

RG 045/90/Z6
Zeta Psi

RG 045/90/Z7
Student Activities Without Formal Organization or Name

RG 045/100
Student Protests and Demonstrations

RG 045/101

The series is arranged into three major groupings. The first, Protests and Demonstrations prior to 1977, reflects student unrest as early as 1867 and includes Civil Rights, Vietnam War and other issues of the 1970s, arranged chronologically. The second grouping, 1970 Vietnam Student Strike Files, are arranged into Subject Files, News Media and Student Letters/Audiotape. The third grouping, Protests and Demonstrations is alphabetically arranged.

Theses and Dissertations (Doctoral, Masters, Senior Honors)
RG 46
Doctoral Dissertations
RG 046/1
Senior Honors Theses (Capstone)
RG 046/3

Senior Honors Theses, now called the Capstone Project, are arranged chronologically by year and then alphabetically by author.

Student Body
146.25 lin. feet
RG 50

This record group contains materials that document alumni and alumni activities throughout the history of the Amherst campus. Included are annual reports, constitutions and by-laws, board and committee minutes, cash books and financial statements, correspondence, alumni directories, class lists, obituaries, biographies, bibliographies of alumni writings, photographs, alumni periodicals, brochures from alumni events, newsclippings, handbooks and manuals, reunion and dinner programs, scrapbooks, memorabilia and artifacts.

Alumni Publications (except as noted below)

RG 050/00

RG 050/00/1
Obituaries and Biographies

RG 050/00/2
Alumni Periodicals

RG 050/00/3
Office of Development and Alumni Affairs
RG 050/1

Formerly Alumni Affairs

Associate Alumni

RG 050/2
Stockbridge Alumni

RG 050/3
Massachussetts Agricultural College Alumni Atheletics Association (MACAAA)

RG 050/4
Alumni Associations

RG 050/5
Classes by year

RG 050/6

The alumni files contain a variety of materials including minutes of class secretaries (1870s), class financial records, correspondence, biographical information, class lists, newsclippings, alumni publications, reunion materials and graduation programs. Included for some years are class histories, class day speeches, odes, poems, diaries, reminiscences, scrapbooks, and artifacts. Larger collections of student and alumni papers are designated by the call number FS.

University of Massachusetts Foundation
RG 050/7

The University of Massachusetts Foundation was incorporated in 1950 as a nonprofit organization "to promote the progress of the University by seeking and administering appropriate private gifts to meet those needs of the institution and its students, which are not met by public appropriation." Since its establishment, the foundation has been able to achieve many of its goals by offering financial aid for: academic scholarship, student activities, instruction, programs of research, fine arts activities, athletic programming, building programs and land acquisition. Today, the University of Massachusetts Foundation continues to grow and serve a great many people by fostering and promoting the growth, progress and general welfare of the University of Massachusetts.

Consists of annual reports, Board of Governor's minutes, long range plans, financial statements, correspondence, handbooks, newsletters, articles, newsclippings and related materials.

University Fund For the Future (UFF)
RG 050/7/1
Chancellor's Council

RG 050/8
Other Campuses
RG 55
Fort Devens
RG 055/1
Vice President

RG 055/1/1
Other units

RG 055/1/2
Medical School, Worcester

RG 055/2
RG 055/3
Planning and Establishment
RG 055/3/1
Nantucket Field Station
RG 055/3/2
University of Lowell
RG 055/4
RG 055/5

Formerly Southeastern Massachusetts University (SMU)

Associations with Other Institutions

RG 60
Land Grant Colleges, State Universities

RG 060/1
New England Council of Land-Grant University Women

RG 060/1/1
New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE)

RG 060/2
University of El Salvador (UES)

RG 060/3
Boston University, UMass, and Simmons College (combined degree-granting program)

RG 060/4
Four-and Five-College Cooperations

RG 060/5

RG 060/5/00
Coordinator of 4-5 Colleges, Inc.

RG 060/5/1
Public School Partnership

RG 060/5/2
Five College Black Studies

RG 060/5/3
New College Committee and Hampshire College

RG 060/6
Massachusetts Review
RG 060/7
WFCR Radio Station

RG 060/8
Five-College Women's Conference, Valley Women's Studies Journal

RG 060/9
Massachusetts Foundation for Humanities and Public Policy

RG 060/10
Statewide Higher Education Information Reporting, Committee for (SHEIR)

RG 060/11
University Photograph Collection

Record Groups 100-176 are part of the University Photograph Collection

Morrill Land Grant

RG 100
Officials of the University

RG 110

RG 110/1

This collection consists of photographic prints and negatives, primarily black and white group and individual portraits, of presidents of the Massachusetts Agricultural College (1863-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007).


RG 110/2
Faculty and Staff

RG 120

RG 120/1

This collection consists of approximately 200 black and white print images, with some accompaning negatives, of group shots of faculty and staff. Represented in the group shots are such subjects as Faculty Wives, Phi Kappa Phi, and Metawampe Club.


RG 120/2

This collection consists of approximately 2,300 black and white print images of faculty and staff, along with some other print formats, and many accompanying negatives.

Students and Alumni by Class

RG 130

This collection consists of photographic prints and negatives, primarily black and white and sepia tone individual and group portraits, of alumni and students from the Massachusetts Agricultural College (1867-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007). The files for the 1950s to the present contain primarily images of convocation and commencement exercises and lack individual student portraits.

Student Organizations

RG 140

RG 140/1

RG 140/2
Miscellaneous Student Organizations

RG 140/3

RG 141
Intramural and Recreational Sports
RG 141/1

RG 142
Public Safety Dept.

RG 143
Activities and Events

RG 145

RG 145/1

RG 145/2
Other Miscellaneous Activities and Events

RG 145/3
Subject Files

RG 146
The Alumnus Magazine

RG 147
The Index Photograph Collection
1980-1997 (bulk1994-1997)
RG 148
Lincoln Ware Barnes Photograph Collection

RG 149
Buildings and Grounds

RG 150

This collection consists of photographic prints, negatives, and postcards of campus buildings, facilities and grounds at the Massachusetts Agricultural College (1867-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007). Also included are some early images of other University of Massachusetts campuses including UMass Boston and Worcester, and Ft. Devens (1946-1949) at Ayer, Massachusetts.

Departmental Activities

RG 160

This Record Group consists of photographic prints and negatives, primarily black and white images of department activities at the Massachusetts Agricultural College (1867-1931), Massachusetts State College (1931-1947), and the University of Massachusetts (1947-2007) through time. Images of faculty and students (individual and group), workshops and seminars, special events, classroom interiors, building exteriors, landscapes, animals, laboratory equipment and mechanical machinery are included.


RG 165
Panoramic Photos

RG 170
Photo Archives Project (PAP)
RG 172
Fred Moore Photo Collection

RG 173
Glass Plate Negatives

RG 174
Oversize Photos

RG 175

RG 176

Proof sheets; organized by year and image number.

Ovesized Materials

RG 177
Poster Collection

RG 180

RG 180/1

RG 180/2

RG 180/3
Films and Plays

RG 180/4

RG 180/5
Cartographic Collection

RG 181

RG 181/1

RG 181/2

RG 181/3

RG 181/4

RG 181/5
Iconographic Materials

RG 182

RG 182/1

RG 182/2
Memorabilia Collection

RG 183

RG 183/1

RG 183/3

RG 183/4
Water color paintings

RG 183/5
Printed Materials

RG 184

RG 184/1

RG 184/2

RG 184/3

RG 184/4

RG 184/5

RG 184/6
Resolutions and Proclamation

RG 184/7

RG 184/8
Sound Recordings

RG 185

RG 185/1

RG 185/2
Audio Tapes

RG 185/1
Films and Videotapes

RG 186
Chancellor's Lecture Series
RG 186/1
Theses and Dissertations

RG 186/2
Operetta Guild

RG 186/3
Campus Buildings and Grounds

RG 186/4
Toward Tomorrow Fair

RG 186/5
Music Library (video tape collection; list only)

RG 186/6
Distinguished Faculty Lecture Series
RG 186/7
Commencements and Convocations

RG 186/8
Troy Lecture Series

RG 186/9
Sidney Topol Distinguished Lecture Series
RG 186/10

RG 186/100
Advisory Council of Women
ca. 1927
RG 186/1
Slides (35 mm)

RG 187
UMass 125th Anniversary Slide Show

RG 187/1
Photo Center Slide Collection

RG 187/2
Home Economics Slide Shows

RG 187/3

Includes audio tapes.

Library Slide Shows

RG 187/4

Includes audio tapes.

Audio Visual Department

RG 187/5
Campus Dedications, Projects, etc.

RG 187/6
Glass Lantern Slides

RG 188

RG 190
Registrar's Office
RG 190/1
RG 190/2

The meeting minutes and documents chronicle the decisions and concerns of the Board of Trustees. Information on personnel, policies, buildings, budget, academics, student activities and other subject areas are found in this series. Microfilm (16mm and 35mm) was produced for the minutes (1863-1967) and for selected Trustee Documents for the 1960s. Microfiche exists for the full board and committee meeting minutes (1863-1976). The microfiche is the preferred user copy. The microformed materials of the Agriculture Experiment, the Agriculture Extension, and the College of Agriculture's Holdworth Natural Resource Center are now held with Current Periodicals and Microfilms.

Agricultural Experiment Station

RG 190/--
Agricultural Extension Service

RG 190/--
College of Agriculture, Holdsworth Natural Resource Center

RG 190/--
Student Health Records

RG 190/7
Married Student Housing
ca. 1960s
RG 190/8
Placement Files

RG 190/9
RG 190/10
Aggie Life
RG 190/11
College Signal
RG 190/12
Massachusetts Daily Collegian
RG 190/13
Mass. Media

RG 190/14
Faculty Records
RG 190/15
Goodell Library

RG 190/16
Bursar's Office
RG 190/17

National Direct Student Loan Program, promissory notes

Housing Services
RG 190/18

The files of Robert Campbell are held within this series.

Stockbridge School of Agriculture

RG 190/19
Maroon and White
RG 190/20

Administrative information


Some administrative records have been restricted.




Copyright and Use (More information )

Cite as: [Item description, RG#], UMass Amherst Records, Special Collections and University Archives, University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries.